• Announcements

    • Reminder - MoDaCo position on illegal content   07/30/15

      ILLEGAL CONTENT I'd like to just reaffirm MoDaCo's position regarding piracy and illegal content in the light of some recent questions / postings. Posts will be censored by myself or my moderation team if the contain or link to: Illegal / pirated / cracked software or sites that host such softwareNintendo emulators / ROMs or sites hosting them (in light of Nintendo's legal stance)CUSTOM ROMS You may discuss and post links to custom device ROMs on MoDaCo, provided the following rules are adhered to: ROMs must not contain any illegal 3rd party software (this includes trial versions included without permission)ROMs must give full credit to the original authorISSUES If you have any issues with this policy, please contact PaulOBrien directly via PM.
    • Reminder: Selling items on the forum directly is not allowed   07/30/15

      Please note that selling items on the forum directly is not allowed by the forum rules. There is a forum for eBay auctions whereby you can list the items on eBay and link to them there. This is the ONLY forum for this type of activity. You may also advertise links to the eBay forum in your signature. Please note that selling directly in contravention of these rules will result in a warning / suspension / ban.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Nexus 7 "linked to Google account option" - safe to be resold without opening?

4 posts in this topic

Posted

I got sick of waiting for my Play order N7 to be shipped so I bought one from Tesco Direct... but now the Play order is shipping. Ooops.

When I ordered I selected the option to have it pre-linked to my Google account. Can anyone who also selected this option tell me what the difference was when they first booted up the device?

I want to re-sell my Play N7 as "Brand new in box" but if it would be a security risk to give someone else a device pre-linked to my account then I would have to open it first to reset it.

Does it ask for your account password on first boot? If so, is it possible to ignore this and sign in as a different Google account (and not have any remnants of my Google account remaining after they do this)?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Yes, it only stores the e-mail address apparently.

P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I can confirm that it's only going to have your email address in. When booting it will say "Hello (your name), please input your password." It has your email address on the screen or a "Not (your name)?" button.

At least that is what I remember...I got an 8GB one from the Play Store with my details already put in.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Ok thanks for your help guys, at least I'm confident I can sell it without giving someone else account access now!

I did think it would be a stupid mistake for Google to make if they did things that way (what about stolen devices?) but thought I best confirm first.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

MoDaCo is part of the MoDaCo.network, © Paul O'Brien 2002-2015. MoDaCo uses IntelliTxt technology.