Jump to content


Photo

New 8500 ROM available

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
Metoo

Metoo

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts
Expansys have posted a new ROM, Bootloader and Install instructions in their Qtek 8500 support forum.

  • 0

#2
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Do you have a public link for more information or do you need to be logged in to access the download?

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#3
fluffcat1

fluffcat1

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,556 posts
  • Devices:8500 amongst others...

Do you have a public link for more information or do you need to be logged in to access the download?



http://www.expansys....o...2&thread=24

Richard

  • 0
'....It's been out in Japan nearly 3 weeks - where's yours?'

#4
hollinshead

hollinshead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
My phone is already running ROM Version: 1.02.252.1

Yet this update claims to be 1.02.251.1, so it's not really an update then? :D

  • 0

#5
Metoo

Metoo

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts

http://www.expansys....o...2&thread=24

Richard


Some doubt over wether it is actually newer than the Expansys shipped version as well - my phone already shows 1.02.252.1

Edit: beat me to it :D

It's always possible they've supplied a reverted a version to Expansys to exclude some bugs. Often happens with mobile phone firmware. Or the 252/251 are just different region/branding codes? HTC have previously stated their intention to bring out a USA specific version.

Edit 2: That latter may well be the case - the iMate Smartflip has 1.2.301.2 and the Dopod S300 1.2.709.1.

Edited by Metoo, 30 August 2006 - 10:20 PM.

  • 0

#6
Fredde87

Fredde87

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Devices:tytn strtrk mio 8390 mpx200
anyone tested this one yet? What languages does it include?

  • 0

#7
paholman

paholman

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
Personally I think it's worth downloading anyway. Should you decided to CID unlock your QTEK, and load another ROM such as the imate or dopod, then at least this one from Expansys is available to go back to. Download it now, before they remove it. That's what I say :D

  • 0

#8
Metoo

Metoo

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts

Personally I think it's worth downloading anyway. Should you decided to CID unlock your QTEK, and load another ROM such as the imate or dopod, then at least this one from Expansys is available to go back to. Download it now, before they remove it. That's what I say :D

True, it is worth archiving for posterity. Until the file size error of the bootloader is fixed, it's not much use for anything else :D

Edit: Seems that instead of looking into why the update doesn't work, or answering any of the other perfectly valid questions on the forum, Expansys have simply locked the thread. What a bunch of cowboys. :D

Edited by Metoo, 01 September 2006 - 06:16 PM.

  • 0

#9
briboynyc

briboynyc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:null

True, it is worth archiving for posterity. Until the file size error of the bootloader is fixed, it's not much use for anything else :D

Edit: Seems that instead of looking into why the update doesn't work, or answering any of the other perfectly valid questions on the forum, Expansys have simply locked the thread. What a bunch of cowboys. :D

sorry to disappoint everyone but that ROM is a test ROM for the qtek and it doesnt fix the missed calls. Its been out for several months now and has been tested and doesnt fix any of the problems associated with this phone. Stick with the Imate or Dopod ROM

  • 0

#10
Metoo

Metoo

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts

sorry to disappoint everyone but that ROM is a test ROM for the qtek and it doesnt fix the missed calls. Its been out for several months now and has been tested and doesnt fix any of the problems associated with this phone. Stick with the Imate or Dopod ROM

The test build was 1.02.251.2 not 1.02.251.1. Not that it matters, because as you say, it doesn't fix any of issues. That said, my main gripe is with Expansys' response to their customers since the files were uploaded. Makes me seriously think about where I put my spend in future.

  • 0

#11
Doomstalk

Doomstalk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Qtek 8500
Supposedly that ROM is only for Dangaard sourced phones, and won't work with Brightpoint hardware.

EDIT: Yoni seems to be full of it on this one. Just verified via Brightpoint's site that I do NOT have one of their handsets. That leads me to believe the file is just bad.

Edited by Doomstalk, 07 September 2006 - 03:56 AM.

  • 0

#12
hollinshead

hollinshead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Supposedly that ROM is only for Dangaard sourced phones, and won't work with Brightpoint hardware.

EDIT: Yoni seems to be full of it on this one. Just verified via Brightpoint's site that I do NOT have one of their handsets. That leads me to believe the file is just bad.


Can you get your IMEI to work on the other site though?

http://www.qtekcorp.com/support.aspx

My IMEI won't work on either! :D

  • 0

#13
Doomstalk

Doomstalk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Qtek 8500
Actually, I re-downloaded the file and got the ROM to work. I need to do some more extensive testing, but it looks like it fixes the hibernation issue. I left my phone on my desk all night, and when I called from my landline this morning it rang! I'll keep you guys updated.

EDIT: Oh and I can't get my IMEI to fit there, but if I leave off the last two digits (my IMEI is 358167000XXXXXX00 so it shows as 358167000XXXXXX) I get this message:

Please visit the website : http://www.teleservice.com
Teleservice (www.teleservice.com) is only to be contacted upon Warranty/Repair issues. This s NOT a hotline/Customer care support."

The serial gives the same message.

Edited by Doomstalk, 09 September 2006 - 03:47 PM.

  • 0

#14
-kiwi-

-kiwi-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:StrTrk

Personally I think it's worth downloading anyway. Should you decided to CID unlock your QTEK, and load another ROM such as the imate or dopod, then at least this one from Expansys is available to go back to. Download it now, before they remove it. That's what I say :D


Sorry.... how is it possible to CID unlock the phone?
I find a method for 8300, but it don't works on 8500 (or, maybe, I'm not so skilled to do it :D )

Thanks

  • 0

#15
Doomstalk

Doomstalk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Qtek 8500

Sorry.... how is it possible to CID unlock the phone?
I find a method for 8300, but it don't works on 8500 (or, maybe, I'm not so skilled to do it :D )

Thanks


http://www.imei-check.co.uk has an unlocker which does both carrier and CID unlock. It is a bit expensive, though.

  • 0

#16
Doomstalk

Doomstalk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Qtek 8500
An update for all you people with Dangaard-sourced 8500s: I've been running the ROM for 3 days now, and I haven't missed a call yet. It looks like the bug is fixed. Sadly it also looks like they pulled the update. Here it is on my webspace, though: http://vaio.telekawa...eur_ship_r2.exe

Don't know if your phone is Dangaard or not? Try these sites:
http://www.qtekcorp.com/support.aspx - Your whole IMEI may not fit, but the last two digits should be zeroes which you can leave off. If it tells you to visit www.teleservice.com, you've got a Dangaard phone, and can use the firmware update.
http://www.myqtek.co...pport_form.aspx - If you are able to submit a support request using your IMEI, you've got a Brightpoint sourced phone. If that's the case, you'll have to wait for them to supply you with an update.

Edited by Doomstalk, 11 September 2006 - 04:59 PM.

  • 0

#17
paholman

paholman

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
Looks like Expansys have reposted the QTEK 8500 ROM : See here

Rom version 1.02.252.1

It's the same version that the QTEk 8500 comes installed with from Expansys, but a good opportunity to download as a backup, should you decide to try another Carrier's ROM such as imate, Cingular or Dopod.

I believe this version still has the missed calls issue for those in the U.S

  • 0

#18
BWB8771

BWB8771

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 3125
My Cingular 3125 indicates it's running ROM version 2.4.502.0 and I'm still missing calls.

WTH?

Edited by BWB8771, 25 September 2006 - 07:18 PM.

  • 0

#19
Metoo

Metoo

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts

My Cingular 3125 indicates it's running ROM version 2.4.502.0 and I'm still missing calls.

WTH?

To be honest, if your phone is not responding to incoming calls, then just send it back. After all, what else is a phone supposed to do? It's clearly not fit for purpose, and HTC/Qtek have dragged their feet far too long enough on this one. Don't be fobbed off by endless promises of a ROM update. They've had since July to fix this issue and they've done b*gger all. If your phone doesn't work, hit them where it hurts and demand a full refund. Maybe then HTC will snap out of their current complacency in shipping shoddy goods (Part 94 - see TyTN/Hermes screen alignment / battery issues).

Edited by Metoo, 29 September 2006 - 10:32 PM.

  • 0

#20
jcp

jcp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Devices:QTEK 8500 Star Trek
Hi all,

Has anyone tested the latest ROM realease published by Expansys UK?
Any bug fixing, or enhancement ?
Is this ROM release OK for any Qtek 8500, regardless of where/from which supplier it was purchased?

Thanks for your reply!

Cheers,

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users