Jump to content


Photo

Applications that don't work on the Vox / Windows Mobile 6

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Found an application that doesn't work on your Vox?

Post here, and i'll add it to the list below!

P

THE HALL OF SHAME ;)

Ateksoft CoolCamera - Doesn't currently display correctly (reported by Paul (MVP))
Slingplayer Mobile - Doesn't connect - Sling working on a fix(reported by Paul (MVP))
wmIRC - Doesn't display correctly in landscape (reported by saqmaster)]

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710
The Core Pocket Media Player - whilst it does technically work, installing it on your Vox means that the backlight never completely turns off (it just dims down) unless you lock the phone. There is a work around, as posted by laita56 - change the following registry key: HKCU/CONTROL PANEL/POWER then values and change it to 30 or 60.

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
SlingPlayer IS going to be updated ;)

http://www.slingcomm.../18617/?src=103

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Added CoolCamera, not currently Vox friendly.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
RSkillz

RSkillz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Devices:HTC P4350, HTC S710, Qtek 8310

The Core Pocket Media Player - whilst it does technically work, installing it on your Vox means that the backlight never completely turns off (it just dims down) unless you lock the phone. There is a work around, as posted by laita56 - change the following registry key: HKCU/CONTROL PANEL/POWER then values and change it to 30 or 60.

I have that registry setting set to 20 and it works? Using TCPMP 0.71

  • 0
[GUIDE] Encode HQ Movies For QVGA Devices

iPaq 3640, Qtek 8310, iPaq rx3715, Qtek S200, HTC P4350, HTC S710, HTC 3700

#6
ayanGR

ayanGR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:HTC S710, QTEK 8010
Toki Tori - won't even start ;)

It's my favourite game. Shame it doesn't work!

Edited by ayanGR, 23 April 2007 - 08:00 AM.

  • 0

#7
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710

I have that registry setting set to 20 and it works? Using TCPMP 0.71

Any value will work as it's the time in seconds before the display switches off.

  • 0

#8
underpaid

underpaid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Someone tested TomTom 5 yet ?

  • 0

#9
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
It was confirmed working in another thread.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#10
nexxexium

nexxexium

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male

It was confirmed working in another thread.

P



Tomtom mobile 5 with update tomtom mobile 5.2 is working.

  • 0

#11
spark9990

spark9990

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Tomtom mobile 5 with update tomtom mobile 5.2 is working.



Anyone tried tomtom 6 with fake curser?

Also does anyone know of other stylus emulation programs?

  • 0

#12
laita56

laita56

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Anyone tried tomtom 6 with fake curser?

Also does anyone know of other stylus emulation programs?

What do you mean by "kake curser" ?
I did a search on google and found nothing ;)

  • 0

#13
spark9990

spark9990

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
you first need an application with which you can emulate a touchscreen on your smartphone. Copy the folder labeled "FakeCursor" to your phone. I like to put it in \Program Files but you can really put it anywhere.

Now you need to map a hardware key to \Program Files\Fakecursor\Fakecursor.exe. Since many of the phones may be different in this regard I cannot offer specifics as to ow to do this.

Most of TomTom6 you can use without touchscreen emulation, but certain things (setting up GPS or selecting from a list) need to use fakecursor. When the need arises, just push the button you mapped fakecursor to and a crosshair will appear. Use the crosshair like you would use your stylus by moving it with the d-pad or phone joystick and you're all set. On my Tmobile Dash, pushing the fakecursor button again to close it will bump me out to the homescreen, but TT6 is still still running. Kind of a pain but still better than Route66 ;)

-----
Could someone post their experience about if it woks/doesnt work. Thanks.

Attached Files


Edited by spark9990, 24 April 2007 - 02:24 PM.

  • 0

#14
laita56

laita56

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

you first need an application with which you can emulate a touchscreen on your smartphone. Copy the folder labeled "FakeCursor" to your phone. I like to put it in \Program Files but you can really put it anywhere.

Now you need to map a hardware key to \Program Files\Fakecursor\Fakecursor.exe. Since many of the phones may be different in this regard I cannot offer specifics as to ow to do this.

Most of TomTom6 you can use without touchscreen emulation, but certain things (setting up GPS or selecting from a list) need to use fakecursor. When the need arises, just push the button you mapped fakecursor to and a crosshair will appear. Use the crosshair like you would use your stylus by moving it with the d-pad or phone joystick and you're all set. On my Tmobile Dash, pushing the fakecursor button again to close it will bump me out to the homescreen, but TT6 is still still running. Kind of a pain but still better than Route66 :)


Thank your very much for your explanations, but when I click on your link it opens a page where I am proposed to download a .php page ... It seems it does not point the right file.

  • 0

#15
spark9990

spark9990

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Thank your very much for your explanations, but when I click on your link it opens a page where I am proposed to download a .php page ... It seems it does not point the right file.


The download works fine. Try again using a different browser. its a .rar file that should download.

  • 0

#16
shardy

shardy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Coventry
  • Devices:M2000, E650, Touch Diamond
I can't seem to get AvantGo to install on my E650, it just sits on the spinning-disk-sand-timer thing indefinitely. Anyone know if AvantGo actually runs on WM6? I can't see anything about it on the AvantGo website. It's a real shame because I use it all the time on my C600 and M2000.

  • 0

#17
mo_sjo

mo_sjo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy SIII
wmIRC doesn't work properly in landscape mode, I will be contacting the vendor!

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy SIII < Google Nexus One < HTC Rose < HTC Touch Diamond < BenQ E72 < HTC Vox < Motorola V3 < Sony Ericsson T610 < Sony Ericsson T61 < HTC Hurricane < HTC Typhoon < More phones than I care to remember!

#18
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Good plan.... will add it to the first post.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#19
Samsonite

Samsonite

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Interests:gadgets, motorcycles
  • Devices:QtekS100, E650, Touch Dual
Pocket TV classic wont install... I get the dialogue box telling me an unsupported device is attached so it wont go thru the installation.

No CAB files given so i couldnt bypass the PC install.

Their forum looks a little thin and there is no email support offered so i was hoping someone in the upper echelons here could get word to them somehow...?

  • 0

#20
mo_sjo

mo_sjo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy SIII

Good plan.... will add it to the first post.

P


wmIRC Update...

After some more testing.. it does appear to work in Landscape mode, not sure what was up with it before. It definately does not like being flipped between portrait and landscape whilst running..

I did email the author about this but no response (nor to my feature request about a year ago, i'm not sure it's even supported anymore).

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy SIII < Google Nexus One < HTC Rose < HTC Touch Diamond < BenQ E72 < HTC Vox < Motorola V3 < Sony Ericsson T610 < Sony Ericsson T61 < HTC Hurricane < HTC Typhoon < More phones than I care to remember!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users