I8000L Flashing Questions

Guest redzone321

Guest redzone321

Hello All.

This is my first time having a smart phone and am very interested in trying out the custom rom that RFD has made. From what ive read i can just flash the PDA section and leave the CSC and PHONE part alone

My question is simple. If i dont like the rom can i just revert back to my original rom?(using a hard reset) Or do i have to install one of the stock roms from this forum? Or is there a way to back up my rom so i can restore it if i have problems with RFD's.

I just got the phone so I really don't want to break it (considering i signed a 3 year deal for it!)

My reason for flashing is im not pleased with the memory disappearing slowly over the day and i want to run SPB or similar and have some room to run other stuff in the ram.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

I will gladly be a i8000L guinea pig if its not too complicated to restore my original firmware.

my Device Details are as follows

PDA: I8000LUGIJ6

CSC: I8000LBMCIJ6

PHONE: I8000LUGIJ6

WinMo 6.5 Build 21856.5.0.65

Guest touchprogeek

redzone,

Yes, you CAN flash RFD's custom UltraLITE ROM on the I8000L, but ONLY the PDA part is safe thus far. I have done so and it works great. It has a few minor glitches in some settings, but AFAIK everything else checks out. But because it is a LITE ROM, many programs have been stripped out. So you will have to search the web to find the programs that you want on your phone, like Opera, Google Maps, Youtube client etc...

I have NOT yet flashed the CSC from any other ROMs listed on Modaco, so I cannot confirm if they work or not. Anyone wanna take a go at this?

As for backing up your ROM, you can use the utility on this post here: http://www.modaco.com/content-page/296097/...-etc/page/140/#