Jump to content


Photo

USB brick/rickrolled/b0rked -> FIXED!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#21
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman
in the disire section it is asked to mpost the "fastboot oem boot" log if the flash fails


here it is:

~/htclegend/ANDROID/r4-legend-root$ ./fastboot-linux oem boot
... INFOsetup_tag addr=0x60000100 cmdline add=0x9D078D14
INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
INFOTAG:skuid 0x22F00
INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x0
INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
INFODevice CID is not super CID
INFOCID is HTC__E11
INFOsetting->cid::HTC__E11
INFOserial number: HT039NX00037
INFOcommandline from head: no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOcommand line length =441
INFOactive commandline: board_legend.disable_uart3=1 board_legen
INFOd.usb_h2w_sw=1 board_legend.disable_sdcard=0 diag.enabled=0 
INFOboard_legend.debug_uart=0 smisize=0 userdata_sel=0 androidbo
INFOot.emmc=false  androidboot.baseband=7.05.35.26L androidboot.
INFOcid=HTC__E11 androidboot.carrier=HTC-Dutch androidboot.mid=P
INFOB7610000 androidboot.keycaps=qwerty androidboot.mode=normal 
INFOandroidboot.serialno=HT039NX00037 androidboot.bootloader=0.4
INFO3.0001 no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOaARM_Partion[0].name=misc
INFOaARM_Partion[1].name=recovery
INFOaARM_Partion[2].name=boot
INFOaARM_Partion[3].name=system
INFOaARM_Partion[4].name=cache
INFOaARM_Partion[5].name=userdata
INFOpartition number=6
INFOValid partition num=6
INFOmpu_nand_acpu_rw 8F2 1000
FAILED (status read failed (Protocol error))

if someone has an idear why I get the segmentation fault please tell

thanks

  • 0

#22
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman
OK so finally i got it working

PFfff you cant Imagen how happy I am :)

I would like to thank every body involved for making this fix and in special thanks to IEFtm for providing some extra help



Thanks !!

  • 0

#23
gutter

gutter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Can anyone post a step by step guide for mac? I am still having trouble getting this to work.

Thanx

ok. Here is the fix i used, step by step. works every time.

if your phone can't even see the memory card, enable first with:

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0

Do the above step in Recovery mode.
Once the memory card is visible, transfer the files "flash_image" and "mtd0.img" to the memory card
howevor is possible.

Restart the phone, and install connectbot from the market.

Open connectbot, and through terminal (local) issue the following commands:

su
cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image "then press enter"
cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"
chmod 755 /data/flash_image "then press enter"
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"

It will give you an error, on the last command, but ignore it and restart the phone
It should be fixed.

Edited by gutter, 25 June 2010 - 12:01 PM.

  • 0

#24
HappyLegend

HappyLegend

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend
HELPPPP PLEASE
when i digit on connectbot cd /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image appairs : cannot create /data/flash_image : permission denied
What can I do?
HELP PLEASE AND SORRY FOR MY BAD ENGLISH

Edited by HappyLegend, 30 June 2010 - 07:00 PM.

  • 0

#25
HappyLegend

HappyLegend

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend

Hi, when i try to 'chmod u+x /data/flash_image' i get "bad mode",
if i try 'chmod 755 /data/flash_image' i get "No such file or directory...
Doing something wrong? :lol:



Sorry man can you helo me???
also to me by the same errors
thank you very much and sorry for my bad english

  • 0

#26
Deffe

Deffe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I tried that before but it didn't work!


i know how access to my sd card o yeah!!!!! ty soo much!!!!! xda!!!!!!!
but is there away i can do the below without a rooted htc legend:

Open a terminal emulator(I used ConnectBot) and type

su
cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image
cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img
chmod 755 /data/flash_image or chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img
reboot


DONE! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

P.S.
before i have reroot my legend make step1 and use fake-flush and not step2. So the phone became rooted and i can use connectbot!

-----
Last question:
Now usb seems ok and the PC can read the phone like a external storage, but i have error with HTC sync. How can i do?
thank you

Edited by Deffe, 08 July 2010 - 07:21 AM.

  • 0

#27
smartsreenath

smartsreenath

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

I tried that before but it didn't work!
i know how access to my sd card o yeah!!!!! ty soo much!!!!! xda!!!!!!!
but is there away i can do the below without a rooted htc legend:

Open a terminal emulator(I used ConnectBot) and type

su
cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image
cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img
chmod 755 /data/flash_image or chmod u+x /data/flash_image
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img
reboot
DONE! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

P.S.
before i have reroot my legend make step1 and use fake-flush and not step2. So the phone became rooted and i can use connectbot!

-----
Last question:
Now usb seems ok and the PC can read the phone like a external storage, but i have error with HTC sync. How can i do?
thank you

same problem ..........some one help me............

  • 0

#28
kubensis

kubensis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

when i digit on connectbot cd /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image appairs : cannot create /data/flash_image : permission denied


I get exactly the same problem, i have tried numerous times now and always get "permission denied" when entering the line;

cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image or cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img

I have also tried these first still to no avail;

chmod u+x /data/flash_image and chmod 755 /data/flash_image

i am using connect bot on the legend to send these commands, is this the correct way of doing it?

I have also noticed that although my SD card is readable in a card reader on my laptop and seems to function fine the legend doesnt seem to be saving anything to it ( phone memory keeps filling up!). Although when i go to the SD card settings on the phone it gives me the option to unmount and even shows me the size of the card (7.42GB).

Absolutely any advice on how to make my phone work again would be greatly appreciated, i have spent hours and hours going round in circles!

Thanks!

  • 0

#29
smartsreenath

smartsreenath

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

in the disire section it is asked to mpost the "fastboot oem boot" log if the flash fails
here it is:

~/htclegend/ANDROID/r4-legend-root$ ./fastboot-linux oem boot
... INFOsetup_tag addr=0x60000100 cmdline add=0x9D078D14
INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
INFOTAG:skuid 0x22F00
INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x0
INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
INFODevice CID is not super CID
INFOCID is HTC__E11
INFOsetting->cid::HTC__E11
INFOserial number: HT039NX00037
INFOcommandline from head: no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOcommand line length =441
INFOactive commandline: board_legend.disable_uart3=1 board_legen
INFOd.usb_h2w_sw=1 board_legend.disable_sdcard=0 diag.enabled=0 
INFOboard_legend.debug_uart=0 smisize=0 userdata_sel=0 androidbo
INFOot.emmc=false  androidboot.baseband=7.05.35.26L androidboot.
INFOcid=HTC__E11 androidboot.carrier=HTC-Dutch androidboot.mid=P
INFOB7610000 androidboot.keycaps=qwerty androidboot.mode=normal 
INFOandroidboot.serialno=HT039NX00037 androidboot.bootloader=0.4
INFO3.0001 no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOaARM_Partion[0].name=misc
INFOaARM_Partion[1].name=recovery
INFOaARM_Partion[2].name=boot
INFOaARM_Partion[3].name=system
INFOaARM_Partion[4].name=cache
INFOaARM_Partion[5].name=userdata
INFOpartition number=6
INFOValid partition num=6
INFOmpu_nand_acpu_rw 8F2 1000
FAILED (status read failed (Protocol error))

if someone has an idear why I get the segmentation fault please tell

thanks

same problem help me.......

  • 0

#30
kubensis

kubensis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Just a quick something to add, in Astro File Manager when the card is not visible Astro also cannot access it and it has "d--" next to "sdcard". When the card is visible Astro has "drw" next to "sdcard" i would imagine this is the difference between write protected and re-writable, just hope this is useful to someone aiming to fix this problem (like me!). Also the card seems to drift inbetween being seen and not being seen intermittently.

  • 0

#31
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman

Just a quick something to add, in Astro File Manager when the card is not visible Astro also cannot access it and it has "d--" next to "sdcard". When the card is visible Astro has "drw" next to "sdcard" i would imagine this is the difference between write protected and re-writable, just hope this is useful to someone aiming to fix this problem (like me!). Also the card seems to drift inbetween being seen and not being seen intermittently.

i doubt it is a question of write protection in unix-like operating systems you have a mount-point , this is nothing more than a folder on the systems OS-partition whare the other partition will be mounted
so what your seeing is the mount point a folder/directory on the protected system folder, the sd card is not recognized and therefore not mounted

  • 0

#32
ilos

ilos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Location:lyon
  • Devices:O2X and N1
  • Twitter:@Gooze
here my mtd0.img ( vodaphone France powered :))

( for info : unbrick was done on a 2.03.405.3 stock rom and it's why i had push 2.03.405.3 version in my mtd0.img )

INFOCID is VODAP203
INFOsetting->cid::VODAP203

Attached File  mtd0.img   640KB   24 downloads

Edited by ilos, 09 August 2010 - 01:20 PM.

  • 0

#33
smartsreenath

smartsreenath

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Can anyone post a step by step guide for mac? I am still having trouble getting this to work.

Thanx

ok. Here is the fix i used, step by step. works every time.

if your phone can't even see the memory card, enable first with:

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0

Do the above step in Recovery mode.
Once the memory card is visible, transfer the files "flash_image" and "mtd0.img" to the memory card
howevor is possible.

Restart the phone, and install connectbot from the market.

Open connectbot, and through terminal (local) issue the following commands:

su
cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image "then press enter"
cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"
chmod 755 /data/flash_image "then press enter"
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"

It will give you an error, on the last command, but ignore it and restart the phone
It should be fixed.

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0 ..........how can i do it in recovery mode........could any one explain it for me........

  • 0

#34
smartsreenath

smartsreenath

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0 ..........how can i do it in recovery mode........could any one explain it for me........

sorry my mistake actually its not in recovery mode ...its in fastbootmode......... :) :D :D :P :P

  • 0

#35
kubensis

kubensis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Okay i sorted my phone! I now have "disk drive" access on my PC hopefully meaning i can flash a new ROM (Not tried yet). To confirm this alllows access to your SD card via the PC, i had made a VERY simple mistake;

When using connectbot i had only typed "su" once, this gave me a dollar symbol

For this to work you need to type "su" twice, the first gives the dollar symbol ($) the second gives the hash symbol (#)

Once you have the # symbol in connect bot you can begin typing this;

cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image "then press enter"
cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"
chmod 755 /data/flash_image "then press enter"
/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img "then press enter"
reboot phone

2 things ....

1) Make sure you have done the fast boot step:
turn off phone and press vol up and power together, then enter fastboot, then type:

fastboot oem enableqxdm 0

2) make sure "mtd0.img" and "flash_image" are on the root of your sd card and named exactly as "mtd0.img" and "flash_image", i had a space after one of my files stopping it from working, i hope this solves everyones issues!!

Gonna try to flash my phone now!

  • 0

#36
izya12

izya12

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi all
People that I do?? I can not determine the USB, only in boot mode is determined, I have a new hboot and I can not do step1, can someone help me ka??

Poligon:/mnt/winda/tmp/android/r4-legend-root# ./fastboot-linux oem gencheckpt boot
... INFOsetup_tag addr=0x60000100 cmdline add=0x9D079570
INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
INFOTAG:skuid 0x22F00
INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x0
INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOMCP dual-die
INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
INFODevice CID is not super CID
INFOCID is HTC__A07
INFOsetting->cid::HTC__A07
INFOserial number: HT03DNX01548
INFOcommandline from head: no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOcommand line length =443
INFOactive commandline: board_legend.disable_uart3=1 board_legen
INFOd.usb_h2w_sw=1 board_legend.disable_sdcard=0 diag.enabled=0
INFOboard_legend.debug_uart=0 smisize=0 userdata_sel=0 androidbo
INFOot.emmc=false androidboot.baseband=7.08.35.21 androidboot.c
INFOid=HTC__A07 androidboot.carrier=HTC-Russia androidboot.mid=P
INFOB7610000 androidboot.keycaps=qwerty androidboot.mode=recover
INFOy androidboot.serialno=HT03DNX01548 androidboot.bootloader=0
INFO.43.0003 no_console_suspend=1 console=null
INFOaARM_Partion[0].name=misc
INFOaARM_Partion[1].name=recovery
INFOaARM_Partion[2].name=boot
INFOaARM_Partion[3].name=system
INFOaARM_Partion[4].name=cache
INFOaARM_Partion[5].name=userdata
INFOpartition number=6
INFOValid partition num=6
INFOmpu_nand_acpu_rw 15E 1000
FAILED (status read failed (Protocol error))

  • 0

#37
izya12

izya12

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Edited by izya12, 17 August 2010 - 06:40 AM.

  • 0

#38
JoHn3R

JoHn3R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Nice ! Thank you !

CID = VODAP203

Attached Files


  • 0

#39
metalfreek

metalfreek

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello,

can someone explain step 3? Does it work on windows XP?
I copied the editet mtd0.img and flash image on my sd-card.
Do i have to start the phone in "fastboot usb" mode? Where do i have to type in the commands?

  • 0

#40
bestdaniel20

bestdaniel20

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

As most of you know, people have been hard at work to fix the USB issues we've been seeing due to recovery setting us into USB debugmode.

After unsuccessful attempts to change the kernel commandline , eg. to:

disable_uart3=0
usb_h2w_sw=0

we've been successful in discovering (with the help of XDA-developers) that these switches are stored in the first NAND partition, mtd0, or 'misc'.

You must be rooted to try the following, it seems you can't write to mtd0 without root.
Do step 1 again if you have to.

Also, SD card functionality has to work. For this, do 'fastboot oem enableqxdm 0' in fastboot mode.



Steps involved:

1. Find out your CID. Go into fastboot mode, and do 'fastboot oem boot'.

The log will say something like the following:

#INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
#INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
#INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
#INFOTAG:skuid 0x21F04
#INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x0
#INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
#INFOMCP dual-die
#INFOMCP dual-die
#INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
#INFODevice CID is not super CID
#INFOCID is HTC__E11

In this specific case, the CID is HTC__E11.

2. Get the following mtd0.img from here or from here: mirror provided by SgtDavePwnage.

Edit this image to the CID you found above with a hex editor.

3. Get flash_image from here or from here: mirror provided by SgtDavePwnage.

Move this to /data/ , and flash the modified image using:

"/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img"

You can move both mtd0.img and flash_image by putting it on your sdcard, and issueing the following command in a terminal emulator:

'cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image'
'cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img'

You might have to do 'chmod u+x /data/flash_image' before you run the commands (or chmod 755 /data/flash_image)



4. Repeat step 3 a couple of times if it doesn't seem to work well.

5. All done! Reboot, you should have normal usb connectivity. Post your 'fastboot oem boot' log and intermediate steps if it fails.
Credits:

-kubino @ XDA for providing us with the 'misc' information
-TheProfessor @ irc.freenode.net #modaco for being the first test subject + debugging
-adam235 @ irc.freenode.net #modaco for being a test subject as well + debugging
-SgtDavePwnage @ irc.freenode.net #modaco -> moral support + debugging :rolleyes:
-DrMon @ irc.freenode.net #modaco -> being brave enough to test on his non-bricked device!

Click here to DONATE :huh:


  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users