Jump to content


Photo

30/Jun r5 - MoDaCo Custom ROM for GSM Hero now with Online Kitchen - Android 2.1

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1031 replies to this topic

#21
sambartle

sambartle

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
  • Twitter:@sambartle

I'll second that. I've unlocked my Hero (originally Orange) and the data performance and general signal level with the new radio was noticeably worse, so I also went back to the JU one.


I actually find it better in one situation (at work) where it was previously terrible... But everywhere else the old one ifs better..

Ive stuck with the new though as it at least gets a signal at work where others dont. The compromise is worth it for me.

  • 0
3 UK Acer Liquid Metal, Silver, B10 - ROM: Modified Stock 2.3.6
orange ZTE Blade Gen 2 (Converted), Grey, B10 - ROM: CM7 Nightly SBUK Mod
orange HTC Hero - ROM: Modaco v5, Radio:63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.11
orange HTC TyTN II / Kaiser - ROM: Custom SBUK_V3
orange HTC SPV M3100 / Hermes - ROM: Custom SBUK_V8

#22
buttonsandzips

buttonsandzips

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Desire

After a wipe, and using non-A2SD, I'm getting google.process.gapps is not responding..


Same here!

  • 0

#23
mifran

mifran

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male

how do I update radio after flashing?


download the radio update.zip to your sdcard then do the same as you did for the rom

mifran

  • 0

#24
okdac

okdac

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Location:France
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x (RIP HTC Hero)
Hi there (again)

I won't repeat it (but actually will) : Paul, thx for all the job done...
Yet, after a full wipe, none a2sd install, FC on "The Application Music (process.com.htc.music) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again" as I try to launch Music (whether android or htc...)

That's all for the moment. Will run some further test and report back.

okdac

  • 0

#25
NX5

NX5

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Location:Newport, UK
  • Interests:Stuff
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@MarkMajor
As others have mentioned, it seems that for most the new radio only works on orange if you unlock your handset. I had to buy an unlock code to test the new radio, but I dont regret it as I am getting far better reception and the problem I was experiencing with calls going to voicemail even though I had full signal has gone. I am also seeing better data reception as well, 3G and H all the way! Cant wait for the kitchen to be opened. Thanks again Paul.

  • 0
Who knows? Who cares? Who will remember anyway?

#26
TBX

TBX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero GSM
Ok,

Changelog

r4 build 2

Fixed problem with cachedalvikcache causing FC and missing A2SD directory

r4

Initial release


com.htc.launcher refused to load (missing a wallpaper), so have a similar thing as before, but only the launcher crashes and restarts:

D/AndroidRuntime( 961): Shutting down VM
W/dalvikvm( 961): threadid=3: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x4001e390)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): Uncaught handler: thread main exiting due to uncaught exception
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to start activity ComponentInfo{com.htc.launcher/com.htc.launcher.Launcher}: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: column 'lockscreen_wallpaper' does not exist
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2596)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread.handleLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2621)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread.access$2200(ActivityThread.java:126)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread$H.handleMessage(ActivityThread.java:1932)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:99)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:123)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:4595)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:521)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:860)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:618)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: column 'lockscreen_wallpaper' does not exist
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.database.AbstractCursor.getColumnIndexOrThrow(AbstractCursor.java:314)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.database.CursorWrapper.getColumnIndexOrThrow(CursorWrapper.java:104)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.htc.launcher.WidgetWorkspaceManager.init(WidgetWorkspaceManager.java:107)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.htc.launcher.WidgetWorkspaceManager.instance(WidgetWorkspaceManager.java:79)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.htc.launcher.Launcher.setupViews(Launcher.java:1680)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at com.htc.launcher.Launcher.onCreate(Launcher.java:530)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.Instrumentation.callActivityOnCreate(Instrumentation.java:1047)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): at android.app.ActivityThread.performLaunchActivity(ActivityThread.java:2544)
E/AndroidRuntime( 961): ... 11 more
I/Process ( 267): Sending signal. PID: 961 SIG: 3
I/dalvikvm( 961): threadid=7: reacting to signal 3
I/dalvikvm( 961): Wrote stack trace to '/data/anr/traces.txt'
I/DumpStateReceiver( 267): Added state dump to 1 crashes
D/dalvikvm( 334): GC freed 13510 objects / 671696 bytes in 134ms


A wipe did not help, in fact, it made it worse -- I am back to the boot loop:

D/PackageManager( 439): Scanning app dir /data/app-private
I/PackageManager( 439): /data/app-private/net.pierrox.mcompass.apk changed; collecting certs
E/System ( 439): Failure starting core service
E/System ( 439): java.lang.NullPointerException
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService$PackageSettingBase.<init>(PackageManagerService.java:5915)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService$PackageSetting.<init>(PackageManagerService.java:6006)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService$Settings.getPackageLP(PackageManagerService.java:6306)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService$Settings.getPackageLP(PackageManagerService.java:6121)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService.scanPackageLI(PackageManagerService.jav
:2329)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService.scanPackageLI(PackageManagerService.jav
:2098)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService.scanDirLI(PackageManagerService.java:19
4)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService.<init>(PackageManagerService.java:611)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.PackageManagerService.main(PackageManagerService.java:335)
E/System ( 439): at com.android.server.ServerThread.run(SystemServer.java:135)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): Crash logging skipped, no checkin service
I/SystemServer( 439): not beta version and not show watermark
I/SystemServer( 439): Status Bar
E/SystemServer( 439): Failure starting StatusBarService
E/SystemServer( 439): java.lang.NullPointerException
E/SystemServer( 439): at android.app.ActivityThread.getPackageInfo(ActivityThread.java:2202)
E/SystemServer( 439): at android.app.ApplicationContext.createPackageContext(ApplicationContext.java:1341

E/SystemServer( 439): at com.htc.res.HtcResources.getContext(HtcResources.java:53)
E/SystemServer( 439): at com.android.server.status.StatusBarService.<init>(StatusBarService.java:323)
E/SystemServer( 439): at com.android.server.ServerThread.run(SystemServer.java:261)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): Crash logging skipped, no checkin service
I/SystemServer( 439): Clipboard Service
I/SystemServer( 439): Input Method Service
E/SystemServer( 439): Failure starting Input Manager Service
E/SystemServer( 439): java.lang.NullPointerException
E/SystemServer( 439): at android.app.ApplicationContext.registerReceiverInternal(ApplicationContext.java:
46)
E/SystemServer( 439): at android.app.ApplicationContext.registerReceiver(ApplicationContext.java:721)
E/SystemServer( 439): at android.app.ApplicationContext.registerReceiver(ApplicationContext.java:715)
E/SystemServer( 439): at com.android.server.InputMethodManagerService.<init>(InputMethodManagerService.java:426)
E/SystemServer( 439): at com.android.server.ServerThread.run(SystemServer.java:276)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): Crash logging skipped, no checkin service
I/SystemServer( 439): NetStat Service
I/SystemServer( 439): Connectivity Service
V/ConnectivityService( 439): ConnectivityService starting up
W/dalvikvm( 439): threadid=27: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x4001e390)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): Uncaught handler: thread ConnectivityThread exiting due to uncaught exception
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): *** EXCEPTION IN SYSTEM PROCESS. System will crash.
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): java.lang.NullPointerException
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.app.ActivityThread.getProvider(ActivityThread.java:4259)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.app.ActivityThread.acquireProvider(ActivityThread.java:4299)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.app.ApplicationContext$ApplicationContentResolver.acquireProvider(ApplicationContext.java:1513)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.content.ContentResolver.acquireProvider(ContentResolver.java:759)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.content.ContentResolver.query(ContentResolver.java:197)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.provider.Settings$NameValueCache.getString(Settings.java:499)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.provider.Settings$Secure.getString(Settings.java:1986)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at android.provider.Settings$Secure.getInt(Settings.java:2026)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at com.android.server.ConnectivityService.getPersistedNetworkPreference(Connectivit
Service.java:720)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at com.android.server.ConnectivityService.<init>(ConnectivityService.java:498)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at com.android.server.ConnectivityService.<init>(ConnectivityService.java:70)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): at com.android.server.ConnectivityService$ConnectivityThread.run(ConnectivityService.java:459)
E/AndroidRuntime( 439): Crash logging skipped, no checkin service
I/Process ( 439): Sending signal. PID: 439 SIG: 9
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'SurfaceFlinger' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'entropy' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'power' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'batteryinfo' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'telephony.registry' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'usagestats' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'clipboard' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'netstat' died
D/HtcBootAnimation( 448): SurfaceFlinger died, exiting...
E/installd( 158): eof
E/installd( 158): failed to read size
I/installd( 158): closing connection
I/Zygote ( 434): Exit zygote because system server (439) has terminated
E/Mp3HwPlayer( 433): ID:1, Mp3HWCount-- == 0.
E/Mp3HwPlayer( 433): ID:1, reset()
E/Mp3HwPlayer( 433): ID:1, destory Mp3HwPlayer
D/MediaPlayerService( 433): Process 433 RSS is 3892
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'media.audio_flinger' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'media.player' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'media.camera' died
I/ServiceManager( 151): service 'media.audio_policy' died
D/AndroidRuntime( 460):
D/AndroidRuntime( 460): >>>>>>>>>>>>>> AndroidRuntime START <<<<<<<<<<<<<<
D/AndroidRuntime( 460): CheckJNI is OFF


The device boots fine with the SD card removed (turning it off and reinserting the SD card, then booting again returns to the "boot loop" problem).

/TBX

Edited by TBX, 08 June 2010 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0

#27
vanschlong

vanschlong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:omnia

download the radio update.zip to your sdcard then do the same as you did for the rom

mifran


I'll have a go cheers

  • 0

#28
Markoc84

Markoc84

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:sony ericsson x1
I'm still getting boot loop when I flash this ROM after data wipe/factory reset. I'm on Orange UK if that makes any difference

  • 0

#29
PhilUK

PhilUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bedfordshire
  • Devices:N95, Omnia, HTC Hero
200 people watching this thread...... waiting..... waiting..... for something..... a kitchen maybe, a fix maybe..... Paul is busy....... rooting an LG.

  • 0

#30
hp1

hp1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Stock 2.3.4

As others have mentioned, it seems that for most the new radio only works on orange if you unlock your handset. I had to buy an unlock code to test the new radio, but I dont regret it as I am getting far better reception and the problem I was experiencing with calls going to voicemail even though I had full signal has gone. I am also seeing better data reception as well, 3G and H all the way! Cant wait for the kitchen to be opened. Thanks again Paul.


So are you saying the new Radio has made an improvment for you on your unlocked Hero as you mention in your first line that it only works on Orange for unlocked handsets? I assume you are therefore on Orange.

I'd be interested to hear from UK O2 users on unlocked handsets.......

  • 0

#31
T39andcounting

T39andcounting

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whitstable, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus on Orange
  • Twitter:@thegovier
Had a bunch of FCs and an error message saying I didn't have enough space on the phone for the new applications (or something along those lines!). Think I'll wait until the fill version with kitchen, then do a full wipe. Looking forward to it!

  • 0

#32
marvi0

marvi0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:htc tytn 11
Ok just checking i have previously flashed custom roms and my phone is already rooted so do i still have to do this (In order to use this ROM on
your device, you must have a
custom recovery image
installed.)? Thanks.

  • 0

#33
golfsierra

golfsierra

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile G2 (HTC Hero)
Keep getting Force Close com.htc.bgp

Otherwise OK

  • 0

#34
rewop

rewop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
I have the same problem as TBX. Flashed app2sd version without wiping and Launcher kept crashing. Managed to shut the phone down gracefully using the power off menu. After that I tried with a wipe and got stuck in endless boot loop.

  • 0

#35
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Peeps, make sure you are...

- wiping first
- rebooting after the first boot completes to free up space on /data
- if using A2SD having FAT32 as the first partition and the second partition as ext2/3

I've been using it on off all afternoon with no issues...!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#36
kharma45

kharma45

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
ROM is great but I keep getting FC on the Music app.

Using non-A2SD version.

  • 0

#37
Arsec

Arsec

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Htc hero
Everything works fine for me now, A2SD version.

  • 0

#38
buttonsandzips

buttonsandzips

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Desire

Peeps, make sure you are...

- wiping first
- rebooting after the first boot completes to free up space on /data
- if using A2SD having FAT32 as the first partition and the second partition as ext2/3

I've been using it on off all afternoon with no issues...!

P


Is it worth just confirming what needs to be wiped? System? Davlik Cache? Anything else?

  • 0

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Lemme check out the music app now...

edit: Confirmed, investigating now...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
Sputnick42

Sputnick42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I also get a boot loop with the A2SD version, coming from MCR3.2 with a wipe.
I guess it's probably due to my SD card partition being FAT32 + ext4.

Back to MCR3.2 now and I will wait for a more advanced release supporting A2SD with ext4.

- Sput

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users