Jump to content


Photo

HTC Wildfire Stage 1 Soft-Root done..Can this be done in Legend?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
zabak

zabak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Source -- >> Paul's Twitter link -->> HTC Wildfire Soft Root



Now as the widfire has been soft rooted..can Legend also get the same...I mean root until you boot next time (sort of temporary root..)


( I read somewhere that HTC legend & wildfire belong to same genre ) ...

But anyways great news for HTC Wildfire...Hope will get for legend soon..:D

Edited by zabak, 16 August 2010 - 08:03 AM.

  • 0

#2
Martin Eve

Martin Eve

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Source -- >> Paul's Twitter link -->> HTC Wildfire Soft Root



Now as the widfire has been soft rooted..can Legend also get the same...I mean root until you boot next time (sort of temporary root..)
( I read somewhere that HTC legend & wildfire belong to same genre ) ...

But anyways great news for HTC Wildfire...Hope will get for legend soon..:D


Hi,

I've posted a 1-click version of the Wildfire exploit; feel free to try it on your Legend: http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=757191

Although I take no responsibility, I don't believe this will cause any harm if it doesn't work.

Best,

Martin

  • 0

#3
zabak

zabak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Hi,

I've posted a 1-click version of the Wildfire exploit; feel free to try it on your Legend: http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=757191

Although I take no responsibility, I don't believe this will cause any harm if it doesn't work.

Best,

Martin



Hey..Released for legend too ..great... Here is the link from original blog (translated by google) by author : - Universal Androot 1.6.2 beta

Edited by zabak, 17 August 2010 - 04:34 PM.

  • 0

#4
zabak

zabak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Hey..Released for legend too ..great... Here is the link from original blog (translated by google) by author : - Universal Androot 1.6.2 beta

\\

confirmed ..this method is working for HTC legend..!! ..This is what i did --- >>

Only install the two apks provided. Nothing else...5 seconds job and phone is rooted temporarily till next boot! !! (gets unrooted on next boot, which is good i think (Safer) whenever we want just root ... )


here is Shell output I got confirming proper root!:

C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
# id
id
uid=0(root) gid=0(root)
#




http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=757191

Edited by zabak, 17 August 2010 - 06:51 PM.

  • 0

#5
Spook Tooth

Spook Tooth

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:Legend, Pulse, N95
Thanks for sharing this Martin. As a new Legend owner I shall definitely be trying this as soon as I can.

Cheers!

No go for me, though I more than likely did something wrong. Downloaded and extracted both files to the phone and installed but no root access is given when in root explorer. What I do wrong?

Edited by Spook Tooth, 19 August 2010 - 12:52 AM.

  • 0

#6
zabak

zabak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Thanks for sharing this Martin. As a new Legend owner I shall definitely be trying this as soon as I can.

Cheers!

No go for me, though I more than likely did something wrong. Downloaded and extracted both files to the phone and installed but no root access is given when in root explorer. What I do wrong?


Everything you did was right except timing. Try to wait 5-10 secs multiple times after the softmod crashes (Force close). ..you would have success..


It working 100 % on all firmwares for Legend & wildfire.
In Root explorer you can check if you have root or not...cheers!!

Edited by zabak, 19 August 2010 - 08:06 AM.

  • 0

#7
Spook Tooth

Spook Tooth

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:Legend, Pulse, N95

Everything you did was right except timing. Try to wait 5-10 secs multiple times after the softmod crashes (Force close). ..you would have success


You were not wrong, thanks for pointing the need to keep at it. Sorted!

Now, asides from viewing file directories otherwise inaccessible to me, what else can I use root for? :D

  • 0

#8
zabak

zabak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

You were not wrong, thanks for pointing the need to keep at it. Sorted!

Now, asides from viewing file directories otherwise inaccessible to me, what else can I use root for? :D



Very Good question....

Answer is :
Things we can do after soft root:

1) Enable Market for paid application
2) Use Set cpu for setting cpu clock frequency, but will reset after phone restart
3) Root explorer
4) Wifi teethering
5) can use cachemate to clear cache!!
6) use Titanium backup

We cannot use anything which is writing on system like:
1) Cannot use ADFREE
2) cannot install custom roms...
....complete this list guys...lets share views!



T o update ...

Following application has same code as of martin..and it does not crash and allows to temperory Root as well as unroot ...

confirmed working on HTC LEGEND

Link - >> http://translate.goo...t...=1&ie=UTF-8

Edited by zabak, 21 August 2010 - 10:15 AM.

  • 0

#9
bobstar_fr

bobstar_fr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend
Hello...

I confirm, the androot 1.6.3 run in soft root to Legend. Hard root does not work.

:huh:

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users