Jump to content


Photo

System image 1.02 online (fixes widget issue?)


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
From AdventVega on Twitter:

Hi all - a few people have mentioned widgets not working properly - we've just posted a full system image 1.02 to www.myadventvega.co.uk


Update to system image 1.02 then soft update to 1.03. We are working on other updates too B)


I'm going to package it all into one update once mine arrives...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
TylerDurdenK

TylerDurdenK

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:TMobile G2
Yes it does.

  • 0

#3
Nos

Nos

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC One X, Xperia Play
  • Twitter:@natheeeeeee
I'm getting an error message when trying to apply the update B)

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
TylerDurdenK

TylerDurdenK

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:TMobile G2

I'm getting an error message when trying to apply the update B)


Did you install the USB System Drivers?

  • 0

#5
Nos

Nos

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC One X, Xperia Play
  • Twitter:@natheeeeeee
Sure did, all the hardware is recognised in Device Manager. I'm on Win7 64, has anyone else tried it from this?

  • 0

#6
lnux9898

lnux9898

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

I'm getting an error message when trying to apply the update B)


Try placing your device in Debug mode first. Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging
Disclaimer: I don't have a Vega (yet), going off my experience with the Folio.

  • 0

#7
Nos

Nos

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC One X, Xperia Play
  • Twitter:@natheeeeeee
It's already in Debug mode B)

  • 0

#8
TylerDurdenK

TylerDurdenK

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:TMobile G2

It's already in Debug mode B)


Mine isn't, try it it without debugging?

  • 0

#9
Nos

Nos

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC One X, Xperia Play
  • Twitter:@natheeeeeee
Took debugging off but still no difference. Tyler, did you have the 1.03 mini update from this morning on yours when you did the full 1.02? I'm wondering if that could be stopping it due to the version number my Vega is reporting.

  • 0

#10
Advent Vega

Advent Vega

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Sure did, all the hardware is recognised in Device Manager. I'm on Win7 64, has anyone else tried it from this?



Hi this is the Advent team.

Was your device plugged in?

The driver must be installed from recovery mode. Power off. Plug into power socket, plug in usb. Hold back button and keep holding, hold power button for a few seconds, windows will sound to detect a new device, release power button, wait 2 seconds then release the back button. You can now install the driver when prompted. Once this is installed you can run the image update.

Let us know if this helps

Regards
Advent

  • 0

#11
Nos

Nos

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC One X, Xperia Play
  • Twitter:@natheeeeeee
Thanks Advent Team, that worked a treat B)

  • 0

#12
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
The full update manual is on the myadventvega.co.uk site...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#13
bewA

bewA

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@EnjoinMoss
I was just looking at the build.prop and looks like this one is signed with test keys :S
# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=FRF91
ro.build.display.id=harmony 2.2 FRF91 20101025.183652
ro.build.version.incremental=20101025.183652
ro.build.version.sdk=8
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=2.2
ro.build.date=一 10月 25 18:50:16 CST 2010
ro.build.date.utc=1288003816
ro.build.type=eng
ro.build.user=antliao
ro.build.host=antliao-laptop
ro.build.tags=test-keys
ro.product.model=Vega
ro.product.brand=nvidia
ro.product.name=Vega
ro.product.device=Vega
ro.product.board=Vega
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=nvidia
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=tegra
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=Vega
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=harmony-eng 2.2 FRF91 20101025.183652 test-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=nvidia/harmony/harmony/harmony:2.2/FRF91/20101025.183652:eng/test-keys
# end build properties

  • 0

#14
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
That happens pretty frequently, no big deal...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#15
bewA

bewA

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@EnjoinMoss

That happens pretty frequently, no big deal...

P


ah ok B)

  • 0

#16
dirtyfrog

dirtyfrog

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, DeFroST 6.0g, 2.2
  • Twitter:@dirtyfrog

Hi this is the Advent team.

......

Regards
Advent



If this is actually an official account from Advent, then I have to say wow, I'm impressed. Day 1 firmware updates, Twitter updates, and now searching out and posting on Modaco. Very good! Slightly curious as to what your line is on the hacking of the device that will go on here - will you offer support to Paul & co to get these tablets working the way we want, or do you have to stay hands off on that kind of thing?

Can't wait till mine turns up, ordered this afternoon and crossing my fingers that it arrives by Friday - if I had to wait over the weekend as well then I think I just may cry.

  • 0

#17
paulsmith

paulsmith

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero , Advent Vega
Any idea on how to apply the full system update for someone running Ubuntu Linux?

I dont have a windows box handy at the moment (apart from in a VM where USB support isn't great)

  • 0

#18
5c00ter

5c00ter

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@5c00ter
ditto (I can get to a windows box, but not 'til weekend)

  • 0

#19
Bisto321

Bisto321

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
while it is nice to see that advent are actually being proactive and helping out with the vegas little issues, it still surprises me that they put it out with obvious QA errors and have expected users to do a full flash on the first day - bit like buying a new car and being asked to bring it back for recall fixes before you have driven it home.

These things annoy me as my company has to run at extremely high levels of accuracy and efficiency or people tend to notice B)

we get beat up if we hit 99.6%!


Not the first company to do it and I am sure they wont be the last.

Much better support than Toshiba though, so big up for that.

  • 0

#20
arad85

arad85

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts
Given the quickness of the fix, I suspect a first day update was already planned when the tablet was shipped. I wouldn't let an image go to production with even 1 code change with just a cursory test (which what would have been done had the first knowledge only surfaced yesterday when people first reported the problem). We sometimes ship products with a first use code upgrade, but then our products are automatically upgraded as soon as they are switched on (broadcast technology).

Not complaining though.

  • 0
Can't get the drivers right for updating the Vega? See this thread
Need to find out what Windows thinks is installed? Download and run [url="http://"http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html"]this tool[/url]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users