Jump to content


Photo

USB host mode

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic

#21
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

That's the one! I'll see if it goes cheap in the January sales, every little helps and all that :)


Here you go:

http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B0023FTRUO

Just 1.57$, I think it worth it ;)

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#22
Phoenix Silver

Phoenix Silver

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Strasbourg.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade Orange France
  • Twitter:@phoenixbjp
is it possible to connect an usb printer ?

  • 0
Si le corps est mortel, l’âme elle est éternelle.

#23
Sven Killig

Sven Killig

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Schwabach
  • Devices:i9100
  • Twitter:@sonic74

is it possible to connect an usb printer ?


In principle all devices that Linux supports can be connected. But depending on the device, one may have to either use a Debian overlay or write a bridge to the Android framework.

Edited by Sven Killig, 20 December 2010 - 03:13 PM.

  • 0

#24
Phoenix Silver

Phoenix Silver

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Strasbourg.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade Orange France
  • Twitter:@phoenixbjp

In principle all devices that Linux supports can be connected. But depending on the device, one may have to either use a Debian overlay or write a bridge to the Android framework.

hp printer :)
in linux use hplip

  • 0
Si le corps est mortel, l’âme elle est éternelle.

#25
Sven Killig

Sven Killig

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Schwabach
  • Devices:i9100
  • Twitter:@sonic74

Here you go:

http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B0023FTRUO

Just 1.57$, I think it worth it :)


I think it should work. But keep the notes on my Nexus One page about missing power in mind.
I use this cable.

Edited by Sven Killig, 20 December 2010 - 03:44 PM.

  • 0

#26
Sven Killig

Sven Killig

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Schwabach
  • Devices:i9100
  • Twitter:@sonic74

great! congrats!

Is this the right kind of cable?


No, it's Micro AB.

Edited by Sven Killig, 20 December 2010 - 03:27 PM.

  • 0

#27
rjm2k

rjm2k

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts
Great stuff, can this be added to the main git archive for the blade kernel so it's in all releases?

  • 0

#28
Sven Killig

Sven Killig

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Schwabach
  • Devices:i9100
  • Twitter:@sonic74

Great stuff, can this be added to the main git archive for the blade kernel so it's in all releases?


I wanted to do a fork on github like I did on the Nexus One, but I'm confused what kernel tree the definite one would be.

Edited by Sven Killig, 20 December 2010 - 03:59 PM.

  • 0

#29
fryguyse

fryguyse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:SF Blade
Cool! Gotta try it out sometime.

  • 0

#30
fonix232

fonix232

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Hungary, Debrecen
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT 512RAM]
  • Twitter:@fonix232

No, it's Micro AB.


Actually, the screenshot is shitty, the Nokia N8 uses the same standard MicroUSB B port what all Nokia phones (I am charging my Blade with my old 5800's USB cable).
And yes, the power question is another one, any way to redirect power-out in kernel to the port?

  • 0
If you like my work, invite me for a drink or two!

Also, take a look at my Blade-dedicated site too! fonix232.co.cc

#31
B.E.N.C.E.

B.E.N.C.E.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE
Hi! :D

It is posible? and how can i do this? I want to connect a USB keyboard.

  • 0

#32
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

Hi! :D

It is posible? and how can i do this? I want to connect a USB keyboard.


http://android.modac...b-otg-question/

http://android.modac.../usb-host-mode/

follow links to sven's site http://sven.killig.d...Blade/usb_host/

  • 0

#33
B.E.N.C.E.

B.E.N.C.E.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE
How to do this? :D
Which rom needed for this hack?

Thanks for everyone! :P

  • 0

#34
rjm2k

rjm2k

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts

How to do this? :D
Which rom needed for this hack?

Thanks for everyone! :P

You'll have to build one yourself or wait until someone includes the additional code.

  • 0

#35
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco
BUMP !


When is a Dev going to include this in their rom?

  • 0

#36
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

How to do this? :D
Which rom needed for this hack?

Thanks for everyone! :P


until a rom is created you would have to push the modules to your phone.

though hold off until it's found if this http://sven.killig.d...b_host/boot.img boot.img is TFT compatible.

where is Sven when you need him

Edited by hecatae, 12 January 2011 - 07:19 PM.

  • 0

#37
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

...
though hold off until it's found if this http://sven.killig.d...b_host/boot.img boot.img is TFT compatible.

where is Sven when you need him



Sven's own Blade came from Switzerland, and thus (pretty much certainly) would have a TFT screen.
And anyway a TPT install/partition can sort out any post-experimentation colour problems by reflashing.




This is something waiting to be picked up by a rom Dev ...



I've already told kallt some times, but looks like he don't want to include it :S


My guess is that with the popularity of his Jellyfish among n00bs, kk already has his hands more than full with basic support questions.
Something like this, unexpected by newcomers and requiring at least some different cabling, would likely significantly add to his support burden.

Maybe when things have settled down a little ...
... unless anyone wants to make this their specialist subject, as an add-in package? (It shouldn't be rom-release-version dependent, should it?)

Do we need Blade-specific mode-switching scripts, or anything else like that?

Edited by oh!dougal, 13 January 2011 - 10:45 AM.

  • 0

#38
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

...
Do we need Blade-specific mode-switching scripts, or anything else like that?


Seems that Host Mode was unlocked on the Advent Vega (tablet) just before Christmas
here's a guide http://android.modac...de-to-usb-host/

and lots of people found that lots of devices would work
http://android.modac...devices-a-list/ (5 page thread)

and before New Year someone called "Paul" had written a little 'mode switcher' app
http://android.modac...slave-switcher/ (4 page)

...

P.S. I'll be posting the source for this on my GitHub when I've tidied it up a little. :D

"Soon" ...
I expect it would make a good starting point for a Blade mode-switcher ...

  • 0

#39
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

and before New Year someone called "Paul" had written a little 'mode switcher' app
http://android.modac...slave-switcher/ (4 page)
"Soon" ...
I expect it would make a good starting point for a Blade mode-switcher ...


have you tried the app, might work as is

  • 0

#40
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

have you tried the app, might work as is


Not tried.
If I thought that the host-mode stuff on the Advent bore a close relation to Sven's work, then perhaps.

I believe its just going to be a simple user interface for

if
button_A then (run a little script as root)
elseif
button_B then (run the other little script as root)
endif

where both the relevant scripts are part of the Advent host mode zip download


I don't think Sven scripted his work. (An exercise for the reader?)

Edited by oh!dougal, 14 January 2011 - 10:37 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users