Jump to content


Photo

SE Arc and custom roms?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Sylar2010

Sylar2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sweet Sensation
  • Twitter:@vegetaleb
Now that SE decided to make the Arc easily rootable and custom roms friendly will we have a chance to see any Modaco rom running on it?

  • 0

#2
Lens_flare

Lens_flare

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts
Why we should have to wait modaco?
If SE will make custom-like recovery, they present a kitchen to easily make some changes on their roms.

  • 0

#3
Sylar2010

Sylar2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sweet Sensation
  • Twitter:@vegetaleb
As I understood the online website will be for unlocking the fastboot mode only using MIEI code, so branded Arc would not have the opportunity to use custom roms but SIM free will.
Perhaps Paul can find a way to bypass the IMIEI security check and root all the Arc way before SE :D
As for custom roms we will have to expect devs to build them because it will not be an option on the SE website

  • 0

#4
Lens_flare

Lens_flare

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts
SE website? I heared about something like standalone kitchen..

Edited by Lens_flare, 03 April 2011 - 03:10 PM.

  • 0

#5
Step666

Step666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Defy & Arc

Now that SE decided to make the Arc easily rootable

That's news to me - care to share the secret?

  • 0

#6
Sylar2010

Sylar2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sweet Sensation
  • Twitter:@vegetaleb
It will be easily rootable once they give us the keys: Read Here

  • 0

#7
rahan95

rahan95

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:Nexus one

  • 0

#8
Step666

Step666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Defy & Arc

It will be...

Ah, so not strictly true when you started the thread.

Still, the unlocking site is active, so hopefully not too much longer...

  • 0

#9
solidchips

solidchips

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:China
  • Devices:Captivate / HTC HD2
I'm unable to run android market on SE xperia neo (MT15i).

bought it from china.

Any help will be really appreciated.

  • 0
Faisal
Nokia 5230 / Pulse / V880 GEN2 / Xperia Neo / Google Nexus S / Captivate / HTC HD2.
Current device(s): Captivate / HTC HD2

#10
Sylar2010

Sylar2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sweet Sensation
  • Twitter:@vegetaleb
First step toward paradise on Arc has been made, I hope Paul is already building a Rom for us:
1-Unlock the bootloader
2-Root
3-Optional but very useful: Recovery
4-Custom Roms

Later:
5-SE release the kernel source
6-Ported roms like MIUI that need modified kernels

  • 0

#11
Lens_flare

Lens_flare

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts
New SE series might be in Cy-mod 7 list of support devices I think.

  • 0

#12
Sylar2010

Sylar2010

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sweet Sensation
  • Twitter:@vegetaleb
Ok guys!
Root is done now :)
We just have to wait for the return of the Jedi (P) on Tuesday so he can build the first? custom rom on Arc and Play

  • 0

#13
RandyboY

RandyboY

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:norway
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Sweet :-)

I tried the "official" bootloader-trick but the driver they put in there didnt work on my machines...

What i would love is to have the new Sense on my new Arc. The phone itself is GENIOUS but I'm comming from Desire and i _really_ miss the Sense... Another thing is MyPhoneExplorer for this phone is also _very_ sweet :-)

  • 0

#14
Step666

Step666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Defy & Arc

I tried the "official" bootloader-trick but the driver they put in there didnt work on my machines...

Try following these instructions instead.

  • 0

#15
RandyboY

RandyboY

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:norway
  • Devices:HTC Hero

Try following these instructions instead.



Sweet, ill give it a try. Thanks

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users