Jump to content


Photo

Full ROOT For Transformer (POST OTA)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21
dictionary

dictionary

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Get a access denied after the chmod777 . Dont work for me

You sure it's typed exactly as it's supposed to be? There is a space between chmod and 777. If you pushed the file to the correct location, and you are trying to chmod the same file you just pushed, you shouldn't have any hangups. Also make sure you don't have a / after gingerbreakBB .. that'll try to chmod a gingerbreakBB folder, which obvioulsy doesn't exist

  • 0

#22
barabba85

barabba85

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:asus eee pad
hi..I follow as a guide for root after upgrade on asus site?

  • 0

#23
Provolino

Provolino

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
any easier way to get root?

I mean something like "install an apk, run it, reboot"

current root method is quite hard for non-expert users :mellow:

  • 0

#24
mhewitson

mhewitson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
If I understand it correctly, as Paul has included the blobv5 in his latest hr4 ROM, then using the 'fake-flash' method of installing CWM then flashong the hr4 ROM will give me a fully rooted device?
Is this correct - seems easier than following this guide.

  • 0

#25
Provolino

Provolino

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
I got it in the same way

Edited by Provolino, 04 May 2011 - 05:39 PM.

  • 0

#26
iamdarren

iamdarren

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Asus Transformer,
I was told on irc to use CHMOD 666 NOT 755 and then my superuser started working. So i giess it just couldnt write changes to enable the root for each application.

  • 0
HTC DESIRE GSM (VODAFONE UK) S-LCD
unlocked by default
VillainRom, or AOSP

ASUS Transformer TF101 UK
Rooted
MCR

#27
Provolino

Provolino

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

If I understand it correctly, as Paul has included the blobv5 in his latest hr4 ROM, then using the 'fake-flash' method of installing CWM then flashong the hr4 ROM will give me a fully rooted device?
Is this correct - seems easier than following this guide.


Ok, installed hr4 using paul fake-recovery beta...

I can confirm it updates boot as well installing real custom recovery Clockworkmod 3.0.2.8, so no needs to keep the fake-recovery zip file in the sd card anymore :mellow:

  • 0

#28
c0sk

c0sk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
i cannot get the # symbol..why?? i've done everything

edit: i get the # but when I run md5sum i get error..can someone help me?

Edited by c0sk, 15 May 2011 - 10:06 AM.

  • 0

#29
c0sk

c0sk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
can someone please help me??

  • 0

#30
Deus_ex11

Deus_ex11

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts

i cannot get the # symbol..why?? i've done everything

edit: i get the # but when I run md5sum i get error..can someone help me?


If you read the root method fully, you will need to get a md5 checker and do that part manually on your windows. Look for the file 'cwmblob_retransfer' in your adb platform-tools folder and check the MD5 is a match. If it matches then you can continue with the instructions.

  • 0

#31
nathan2226

nathan2226

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
EDIT: Managed to download it

EDIT: I got to step 4 "4. run “adb shell” followed by “/data/local/gingerbreakBB” "

I keep getting a 'device not found message", when I exit CMD and enter again, the device is recognised !

Edited by nathan2226, 15 May 2011 - 06:26 PM.

  • 0

#32
c0sk

c0sk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

If you read the root method fully, you will need to get a md5 checker and do that part manually on your windows. Look for the file 'cwmblob_retransfer' in your adb platform-tools folder and check the MD5 is a match. If it matches then you can continue with the instructions.

Thanks a lot i succesfully rooted my devicee :unsure:

  • 0

#33
baseballfanz

baseballfanz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Captivate
Can't seems to get into CWM recovery.
Done all the steps, I have root but when holding vol down + power button doesn't take me to CWM recovery

  • 0

#34
mrat

mrat

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Note 2, Razr Maxx, Transformer

Can't seems to get into CWM recovery.
Done all the steps, I have root but when holding vol down + power button doesn't take me to CWM recovery


You have to press volume up within 5 secs once the small writing appears on the screen.

Edited by mrat, 25 May 2011 - 02:13 PM.

  • 0

#35
baseballfanz

baseballfanz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Captivate

You have to press volume up within 5 secs once the small writing appears on the screen.

Yeah it's pretty tricky but I got it working. To save me times and headache I bought Paul's recovery app.
Get into CWM with a push.:P

  • 0

#36
wilx01

wilx01

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
Hi
I'm looking to root mine, but unsure of the version number . The Guide says

UPDATE 4/5/2011: New blob released! This blob is intended for latest firmware update (V8.2.3.9) and fixes the camera/bluetooth issues!

Where do I get my version number?

is it the Build Number... Mine is HRI66.WW_epad-8.2.3.13-20110511

Is this the version? Does it matter mine is .13? Does it matter if mine is world wide?

Thanks

Edited by wilx01, 26 May 2011 - 05:25 PM.

  • 0

#37
fisha21

fisha21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Asus Transformer

is it the Build Number... Mine is HRI66.WW_epad-8.2.3.13-20110511

Is this the version? Does it matter mine is .13? Does it matter if mine is world wide?

Thanks


Yep, your build number shows you are running the 8.2.3.13 firmware. This is the latest firmware and, so far, hasn't been rooted. You will need to downgrade to firmware 8.2.3.9 before you can root. Once you're rooted though, there are a few custom ROMs based on .13, so you won't be downgraded for long!

  • 0

#38
Buembel

Buembel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Touch HD
hey,
I've downgraded to .9,
and I get this:

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
List of devices attached
288418341817217 device

C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb push gingerbreakBB \data\local\
failed to copy 'gingerbreakBB' to '\data\local\': Read-only file system


What should I do?

/e: nevermind, the "\" s were wrong...

Edited by Buembel, 02 June 2011 - 12:15 PM.

  • 0

#39
Deus_ex11

Deus_ex11

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
It should be forward slashes. e.g. adb push gingerbreakBB /data/local/

  • 0

#40
shingers5

shingers5

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:liverpool
  • Devices:HTC One X(black & white) SXL
  • Twitter:@shingers
well after much hair pulling i finally did it OMG! LOL not sure what was up with the thing but all went well but upon reboot i wasnt getting the blue progress bar indicating that CWM was flashing. went back to beginning removed boomsh and sh then re did the whole process and now i am HAPPY! HR7 flashed and working sweet! very happy bunny

  • 0
****HTC One X****
**** HTC Sensation XL****
**** Iphone 4s ****




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users