Jump to content


Photo

Acer Iconia Smart - need help rooting

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
Hi guys,

I have my hands on a Acer Iconia Smart (S300) running Android 2.3.3 (ROM Acer_S300_1.000.03, baseband A5-01.02.00, kernel 2.6.35.7-perf)). I'm unable to root it as usual metods failed (Z4, universal androot, superoneclick, gingerbreak). If anyone can help me I'll share the dump...

I already have a dump of the system (via adb pull) : http://www.multiupload.com/U1SW10AMVX

Thanks for your help !

Regards,

Edited by paugustin, 10 June 2011 - 12:17 PM.

  • 0

#2
TigerTael

TigerTael

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Is this sorted out now?

  • 0

#3
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
I had some help from a dev and yes he managed to build a superboot to root the system. It is "experimental" but it worked fine :)

  • 0

#4
TigerTael

TigerTael

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I had some help from a dev and yes he managed to build a superboot to root the system. It is "experimental" but it worked fine :blink:

Okay cool.

Edited by TigerTael, 26 July 2011 - 11:53 AM.

  • 0

#5
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
OK thanks for the help offre !

It's nice to see somebody else using this baby :blink:

What bin are you running ? Mine is 1.000.08_01.04.00_EMEA_GEN1 and there is 1.000.09_01.04.00_AAP_GEN2 that has been released by LIQUID_USER in the liquid forum a few days ago.

  • 0

#6
TigerTael

TigerTael

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

OK thanks for the help offre !

It's nice to see somebody else using this baby :blink:

What bin are you running ? Mine is 1.000.08_01.04.00_EMEA_GEN1 and there is 1.000.09_01.04.00_AAP_GEN2 that has been released by LIQUID_USER in the liquid forum a few days ago.

If you wish to enable some applications to use fullscreen, you need to decompile and edit AndroidManifest.xml and add this to it (By the permissions section):
<uses-feature android:name="com.acer.android.XLONG_SCREEN" android:required="false" />

  • 0

#7
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
hmmm there is an easier way : dial *#*#4225#*#* and you'll get a hidden option to disable compatibility mode. It is also possible to acces it thanks to Launcher pro by Adding a shortcut, Activities, settings, Compatibility settings. That way you can have a shortcut on the desktop to access the option.

  • 0

#8
TigerTael

TigerTael

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

hmmm there is an easier way : dial *#*#4225#*#* and you'll get a hidden option to disable compatibility mode. It is also possible to acces it thanks to Launcher pro by Adding a shortcut, Activities, settings, Compatibility settings. That way you can have a shortcut on the desktop to access the option.

I think this option must be removed because using that combo results in nothing.

Edit: Aaah, but using Launcher Pro, I was able to turn it off! Thanks man, I didn't even know this existed.

Edited by TigerTael, 26 July 2011 - 11:54 AM.

  • 0

#9
paugustin

paugustin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E2
  • Twitter:@acerclubfr
OK was your phone delivered with this version of rom or did you get an update ?

  • 0

#10
FloatingFatMan

FloatingFatMan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Geidi Prime
  • Interests:Maiming

I had some help from a dev and yes he managed to build a superboot to root the system. It is "experimental" but it worked fine :)


Is there any chance this rooting method can be released?

  • 0
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that the mind acquires speed,
the hands acquire shaking, the shaking is a warning,
it is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion...

#11
se-tw

se-tw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
xda:
[Recovery & Root] Unofficial CWM for Acer Iconia Smart and root method
http://forum.xda-dev....php?p=17779482

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users