Jump to content


Photo

We *must not* lose focus: OMC *still* needs proper unlock solution!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
I'm very pleased about the fact that these X-sim and turboSIM devices are providing a solution for a lot of people, but I fear that people may be taking their "eye off the ball", so to speak.

Although these are great devices, I just want to encourage everyone involved in the unlocking project not to give up! :) There *will* be a solution, we just need to work extra hard to make sure we don't become reliant on third-party adaptors, when all it takes is some dedication and outright determination - IT CAN BE DONE! WE NEED TO DO THIS!

I have faith in this community, you're all brilliant people working hard for little or no reward, except the gratitude of others. If I had the knowledge to crack this alone, believe me, I'd do it in a hearbeat, write the PHP code and give you all the calculator! As I am new to algorithms, byte swapping & all that foreign stuff, I just want to tell you all that you're super people, and this is a superb handset.

IT CAN BE DONE! DON'T LET OBFUSCATION AND DISAPPOINTMENT DETER YOU!

God bless you all! :)

Edited by glossywhite, 10 October 2011 - 10:27 PM.

  • 0

#2
gregorv

gregorv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
Hello

I'm maybe the only one who is waiting of proper unlock ;) . Turbo sim is no go for me.
But I can't help, because I don't understand programming, cracking, hacking ....things.

Kind regards.

  • 0

#3
netdudeuk

netdudeuk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 3G

Turbo sim is no go for me.


Really ? Why would that be ?

  • 0

#4
yaylol

yaylol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Really ? Why would that be ?


Because you have to cut off your SIM!

  • 0

#5
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

Because you have to cut off your SIM!


its very easy, just get some free sims from here to practice on http://www.t-mobile....text-sim-cards/ Posted Image

  • 0

#6
philmein

philmein

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Proud Lancastrian
  • Interests:E-Cigs
    expensive hobby
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo zte blade

I'm very pleased about the fact that these X-sim and turboSIM devices are providing a solution for a lot of people, but I fear that people may be taking their "eye off the ball", so to speak.

Although these are great devices, I just want to encourage everyone involved in the unlocking project not to give up! :) There *will* be a solution, we just need to work extra hard to make sure we don't become reliant on third-party adaptors, when all it takes is some dedication and outright determination - IT CAN BE DONE! WE NEED TO DO THIS!

I have faith in this community, you're all brilliant people working hard for little or no reward, except the gratitude of others. If I had the knowledge to crack this alone, believe me, I'd do it in a hearbeat, write the PHP code and give you all the calculator! As I am new to algorithms, byte swapping & all that foreign stuff, I just want to tell you all that you're super people, and this is a superb handset.

IT CAN BE DONE! DON'T LET OBFUSCATION AND DISAPPOINTMENT DETER YOU!

God bless you all! :)



you should run for president of the united states of america Posted Image



  • 0

#7
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

you should run for president of the united states of america Posted Image




Uhmmm... may I pass on that? :lol:

  • 0

#8
yaylol

yaylol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

its very easy, just get some free sims from here to practice on http://www.t-mobile....text-sim-cards/ Posted Image


That's not the point, the point is the cutting itself! ;)

Aaaaaargh we need some help by professional hackers like the iPhone DEV team!! :D

  • 0

#9
gregorv

gregorv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
The phone will be as gift, and it will be very strange to explain: now there are two sims inside, one for you and one for me, so I can spy on you :lol:


  • 0

#10
gregorv

gregorv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
OK, back to work.

What do we need to unlock this baby? Does anyone know? Is it possibe to access, overwrite nand memory?
What software is needed? Is it realy so difficult to change nand memory?

Do you maybe know if in the background "smart heads" are already working on unlock?

Why was blade so quickly unlocked (no nand memory)?

Do we need any particular forum member? Maybe we can all PM him or her and ask for help.

Kind regards.





  • 0

#11
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D
I asked for the unlock code from orange over a month ago....they sent me my unlock code in the post yesterday....:D...if you're British residents and have been orange costumers for a long time you should get yours as well by politely asking as i did....

I've only had my OMC for 2 months so the 3 month rule is bendable...

otherwise there is the x-sim option for a fiver....

Edited by dadashi, 12 October 2011 - 09:23 AM.

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#12
gregorv

gregorv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
yes, you got it, but you are long time orange customer...
I will only buy phone and I will never use oragne network...no chance to get the code.

we need proper unlock (no xsim, turbosim ...).

  • 0

#13
dadashi

dadashi

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

yes, you got it, but you are long time orange customer...
I will only buy phone and I will never use oragne network...no chance to get the code.

we need proper unlock (no xsim, turbosim ...).


actualy orange will give the unlock code after 3 months to all users....it's on their website...

  • 0
MonteCarlo + HTC EVO 3D

#14
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
to be honest messing with the NAND in most cases will brick your phone ought right... unless you know exactally wot it is you are doing....
and most if not all the members here for the skate have no idea / unwilling to brick there phone....

it is a great phone, but it just has not got enough support Posted Image

  • 0

#15
yaylol

yaylol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

actualy orange will give the unlock code after 3 months to all users....it's on their website...


For 20GBP, yes.

  • 0

#16
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

to be honest messing with the NAND in most cases will brick your phone ought right... unless you know exactally wot it is you are doing....
and most if not all the members here for the skate have no idea / unwilling to brick there phone....

it is a great phone, but it just has not got enough support Posted Image


Hi dude. I'm a general hardcore geek & terminal hacker... so what do I do, to dump me some NAND? I know which way is in, and which way is out, so no chance of me flashing anything; just want to dump and hexedit/scan for strings.

Thanks


PS: I'm a pro with "dd" so don't be afraid of showing me some of that dd if=/this/that stuff; it's all candy to me, baby!


[_EDIT_]

Got it, don't worry:


DO NOT TRY THIS UNLESS YOU ARE COMFORTABLE WITH *NIX TERMINAL COMMANDS, OR ARE WILLING TO BRICK YOUR LOVELY OMC!

Using ./adb shell:
dd if=/dev/mtd/mtd0 of=/sdcard/mtd0.dmp bs=4096

...

dd if=/dev/mtd/mtd8 of=/sdcard/mtd8.dmp bs=4096


So that's mtd0-mtd8

Edited by glossywhite, 12 October 2011 - 05:03 PM.

  • 0

#17
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
Just dumped all (I think - 1-8) NAND partitions and did:


strings *mtd* --print-file-name | grep netlock


and got:


mtd5.dmp: xdr_nv_send_nv_ue_netlock_type
mtd5.dmp: xdr_nv_recv_nv_ue_netlock_type

Curious... the nv suggests "non-volatile"...

Ideas?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users