Jump to content


Photo

Unlocking San Fran 2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
213 replies to this topic

#161
CloudyBrain

CloudyBrain

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
Just want to say a BIG thank you to PsYcHoKiLLa, I've just successfully flashed my OSF2 following these instructions. Also thanks to Ramesh's detailed instructions here http://ztecrescent.b...-unlocking.html particularly the expected times these things take, helped to dampen some of the nerves! Looking forward to my giffgaff sim arriving any day now Posted Image

  • 0

#162
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
You're very welcome :)

  • 0

#163
questionquick

questionquick

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
my wifi mac address is now 11:22:33:44:55:66

I did take a note of the previous MAC address... how do i restore this??? thanks

  • 0

#164
Reider59

Reider59

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
This is for the Skate but may set you in the right direction;

http://android.modac...p/page__st__180

EDIT: Or better still here;

http://android.modac...nlocked-now-up/

Post in that thread if any further problems as its a Mac address specific thread for the Crescent.

Good luck,

Steve

Edited by Reider59, 05 January 2012 - 07:52 PM.

  • 0
*** Just remember, any ROM change, Kernel change or any other type of change you do is at your own risk. Someone helping you is not responsible for any risks you decide to take. It works for many but their are situations, events and errors outside of the control of a third party that may cause a bricked phone. Think before you start. I took the chance and thankfully it worked for me. Had it not then only I would have been to blame. ***

#165
diego74

diego74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:zte skate

Your tutorial is perfect mate!

It worked perfect from the first try. It was exactly what I needed. My phone works now smoothly.

Thanks a lot PsYcHoKiLLa. !!!!



hi sorry i lost my mac address and i can t download from megaupload il say it shut could you please send me the file A4IAI20RJT to fix my mac address or the file that i need ever so thank you and please of course
diego
my email [email protected]
thanks

  • 0

#166
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

hi sorry i lost my mac address and i can t download from megaupload il say it shut could you please send me the file A4IAI20RJT to fix my mac address or the file that i need ever so thank you and please of course
diego
my email [email protected]
thanks


Would help if you tell us what phone you have

  • 0

#167
reboot247

reboot247

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:San Francisco
Help!!! I have a SF2 which I unlocked and flashed a de-branded rom to....no problem except I have the dreaded loss of MAC address and I cannot get back to the FTM as I have installed clockwork mod instead?
Tried removing the clockwork mod but still no FTM.
Is the anyway I can return to FTM so I can restore the MAC address or is there another way that doesn't use the FTM?

Ok done it...restored back to stock ROM then FTM was restored.

Edited by reboot247, 29 January 2012 - 01:36 AM.

  • 0

#168
The smartphone

The smartphone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Cresent

Hey, I'll take you through the steps I went thru to get it working..

You need to download the custom rom (flb2-r2a.zip) and the default kernel (ouk-stock.zip) for the SFII

Then grab the SFII unlocker (Which should load up the Clockwork Recovery Mod...but won't install it from here : http://www.multiupload.com/TWKP44A5AD

Unzip the Unlock_OSF2.zip file but don't unzip the other 2.

To use the clockwork recovery you use volume up/down to go up/down the menus, the home button as an enter key and the back button as a back key...just to clarify) so to carry out a command in the menus scroll to it using the volume buttons then the home button to carry out the command and you should see a resulting prompt underneath describing what it's doing.

Now carry out the following steps :

  • Boot your phone into the FTM mode by turning it on while holding down the volume down button (hopefully you previously managed to backup your config with QPST)
  • Connect the USB cable
  • Run the unlocker (The download.exe file in the folder you made by unzipping the Unlock_OSF2.zip file) which should reboot the phone into the Clockwork Recovery Mode (Just click on START, which should be green, if it isn't then try unplugging the usb cable and then plug it back in and restart the exe)...DO NOT UNPLUG YOUR USB CABLE WHILE THE PROGRESS BAR IS GOING UP, once it's finished you should see "Download Completed" or something, I can't remember exactly what it says but it'll be something like that, then you can close the program and you should see the Clockwork screen on your phone.
  • Wipe both caches (by going to wipe data/factory reset and then wipe cache partition
  • Now go to advanced
  • Wipe the dalvik cache then Wipe battery stats (This makes sure you get a proper charge)
  • Go back to the main screen and then to the mounts and storage menu
  • At the bottom choose mount USB storage to mount the sdcard and then copy both rom zip files (flb2-r2a.zip and ouk-stock.zip) over from the computer into the main folder of your sdcard, once you've copied the files then just go back to the main menu with the back button, the sdcard is automatically unmounted when you exit that section
  • Flash the custom rom first (go to apply update from sdcard then choose zip from sdcard), then choose the flb2-r2a.zip file, then without rebooting, flash the kernel for the SFII (repeat the same process to do that except for choosing the ouk-stock.zip)
  • If you have QPST, restore the qcn file which you hopefully backed up from the "software download" section, if you didn't back it up you may/probably will have lost your mac address and if you didn't take a note of it either then you're wireless will basically be buggered.
  • Reboot the phone (by going into the main menu on the Clockwork Recovery and then choosing reboot system now and hopefully it will reboot into the custom rom, also the tracking on the keyboard should be fixed because you have also flashed the kernel rom for the SFII
  • So, now you're actually in the phone, first of all, when it asks you to set up your google account, press the "I'll sign in later" or whatever it says cos you need to check the wireless and keyboard first.
  • Go straight into settings, then "About Phone", then check that the mac address is legit, if it says "11 22 33 44 55 66" then you've lost the mac address and you won't get wireless, if it shows a proper mac address then you should be ok. If it does show "11 22 33 44 55 66" but you have a note of the correct mac address then it is possible (and a bit complicated) to restore the proper mac address so don't panic, if you didn't take a note of it though then you won't ever get wireless and you also need a slap :P
Just to let you know, this whole process won't "install" the Clockwork Recovery mod but it will load it enough to let you flash the custom rom. If you want to properly "install" the Recovery you really need to use the adb method noted elsewhere in this forum, which I couldn't do cos I'm using Windows 7 64bit and it's a right royal pain in the butt.

Hope all that helps, come back if you're still stuck


Hi @PsYcHoKiLLa and all!

I've managed to brick my T-Mobile Vivacity as well. I first installed ClockworkMod directly, using image directory. As a result, the normal OS will not boot and the phone would always go into recovery mode.

Then I tried to restore the original ROM, which I flashed using the recovery mode. It completed successfully, however upon restart the phone doesn't go into OS again, but rather starts in some broken recovery mode. It is blue, rather than orange, and doesn't allow me to select any menu entries (but it does allow me to change them).

I've tried following your very helpful list, however I am stuck at stage 3 (flashing unlock) - it completes 6/100, then the phone turns black and after some time the app reports an error. Any idea on what could be done about all this?

  • 0

#169
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
Sorry, I don't have a Vivacity but lots of other people do and should be able to help you. As far as I understand it there's a version of CWM here which will let you use the "soft" keys on the Vivacity to access the CWM menu.

If you restart the phone while holding down "volume down" what comes up? Is it the FTM screen or Clockwork?

If it's FTM then you should be able to push the clockwork mod recovery through ADB, there's loads of tutorials on how to do that here

If it's CWM that comes up then you should be able to flash a rom.

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 07 February 2012 - 02:30 AM.

  • 0

#170
windy_miller

windy_miller

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
I saw the blue CWM screen a few times when unlocking my phone, but selecting "Reboot recovery" returned me to an orange screen. However, if you can't select any menu items then I'm not sure what you can do.

  • 0

#171
The smartphone

The smartphone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Cresent

Sorry, I don't have a Vivacity but lots of other people do and should be able to help you. As far as I understand it there's a version of CWM here which will let you use the "soft" keys on the Vivacity to access the CWM menu.

If you restart the phone while holding down "volume down" what comes up? Is it the FTM screen or Clockwork?

If it's FTM then you should be able to push the clockwork mod recovery through ADB, there's loads of tutorials on how to do that here

If it's CWM that comes up then you should be able to flash a rom.

I do get FTM. Any recommended links for attempting "adb recovery" you mention?

  • 0

#172
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

fastboot method

  • NOTE: You will need have the Android SDK installed on your comptuer and the device's drivers installed for this to work.
  • From a command prompt run 'adb reboot bootloader'
  • The device will reboot, and stay at the inital boot screen.
  • From a command prompt run 'fastboot flash recovery <filename>.img'
  • When this finishes, from the command prompt run 'fastboot reboot'
  • finaly while your device reboots type 'adb reboot recovery' again and your device should reboot into ClockworkMod Recovery

From here, it's mentioned on a few of these topics, I really do think there should be locked tutorials pinned at the top of the forums with all these.

You don't have to install the SDK though, just grab the ADB set from here.
Here's the link for the custom version of Clockwork Mod Recovery, you want the one with the img filetype.

Then just follow the instructions above.

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 07 February 2012 - 02:34 PM.

  • 0

#173
The smartphone

The smartphone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Cresent

[/list]From here, it's mentioned on a few of these topics, I really do think there should be locked tutorials pinned at the top of the forums with all these.

You don't have to install the SDK though, just grab the ADB set from here.
Here's the link for the custom version of Clockwork Mod Recovery, you want the one with the img filetype.

Then just follow the instructions above.


Thanks, I'll try it when I'm back home.

  • 0

#174
The smartphone

The smartphone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Cresent

From here, it's mentioned on a few of these topics, I really do think there should be locked tutorials pinned at the top of the forums with all these.

You don't have to install the SDK though, just grab the ADB set from here.
Here's the link for the custom version of Clockwork Mod Recovery, you want the one with the img filetype.

Then just follow the instructions above.


Doesn't look like adb is detecting my phone. I would say even further, neither Windows nor Linux detect it as USB device, when I connect it in FMT mode :(

Looks like I need a way to start my phone in "fastboot" mode, similar to here, where the guy has a similar problem. I tried a few key combinations during start-up, Menu+VolDown, Menu+VolUp, Home+VolUp/Down, but so far I either get the FTM or the broken blue recovery

Edited by The smartphone, 07 February 2012 - 08:12 PM.

  • 0

#175
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

Doesn't look like adb is detecting my phone. I would say even further, neither Windows nor Linux detect it as USB device, when I connect it in FMT mode :(

Looks like I need a way to start my phone in "fastboot" mode, similar to here, where the guy has a similar problem. I tried a few key combinations during start-up, Menu+VolDown, Menu+VolUp, Home+VolUp/Down, but so far I either get the FTM or the broken blue recovery


Try a new topic and make sure you specify it's the Vivacity, hopefully some of our T-Mobile friends will respond :)

Did you try using the download program too? ( http://www.multiupload.com/TWKP44A5AD ) You can replace the recovery.img in the files folder with whichever recovery version you want. Just hit the START button in the flasher and wait until it reaches 100

Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 08 February 2012 - 12:05 AM.

  • 0

#176
The smartphone

The smartphone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Cresent

Try a new topic and make sure you specify it's the Vivacity, hopefully some of our T-Mobile friends will respond :)


Good idea, thanks

  • 0

#177
spike_1

spike_1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Hello completely new to all this! I have an SFII & have tried the unlock it but I think I have a really major problem.

I've been through the steps to unlock the phone & everything seemed to be going according to plan.....saved the qcn file (made sure it was non zero), then ran download.exe (window appeared on my pc saying install was successful), restored the qcn file
, removed USB cable put the battery back in the phone & my new sim, now this is when I hit the problem when I try to reboot using power on + down volume key all I get is a blank screen with the back light flashing intermittently. Can not get seem to get back to FMT mode either.

This happened last weekend & I have had a little time to reflect on what I could have done wrong to cause this problem. The downloads for the unlock was taken from a blog on another SFII website. Could the unlock files be for another phone model?

Because the procedure appeared to be working I rather naively pressed on with the unlock!!. Is it even possible to install incorrect unlock file without getting some sort of error message?

So this is my sorry tale & if there is anyone who can offer some words of wisdom on how to recover the situation I would be very grateful.

Is the process reversible?

Is it possible to load correct unlock files?

Or have I now converted my phone in to a rather expensive paperweight!!!!


Thanks grateful for any comments.

  • 0

#178
Fuzzra

Fuzzra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Brutally carved up SFII
Try this to give you a working recovery: http://android.modac...flash-recovery/

  • 0

#179
spike_1

spike_1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Try this to give you a working recovery: http://android.modac...flash-recovery/


Thanks for getting back to me. I'm new to smart phones! I've tried to power up the phone as method-2 in the guide from the link i.e. by pressing power on with the menu & volume+ unfortunately nothing seems to happen.

Unless I can get the phone 'fired up' again somehow I don't see how I can install the md5sum files to the sd card.

Cheers

  • 0

#180
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain
I think it should be vol -, not vol +

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users