Jump to content


Photo

[JB] [4.1.2] CyanogenMod 10.0 [ROM]


  • Please log in to reply
2221 replies to this topic

#1821
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
<Deleted due to stupidity>

Edited by TangerineTractor, 24 January 2013 - 12:42 PM.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#1822
DJPRMF

DJPRMF

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:tugatech.com.pt
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@tugatech

Hotspot Wi-Fi working properly now.
For the first time with the CM10 R6 I had two system reboots during calls, with Wi-Fi active.
Battery consumption seems higher in R6 compared to R5 and R4.


Humm, maybe you have isntalled CM9 instead of CM10? :D
CM10 is only at R5... CM9 is in R7...

  • 0

#1823
intensedarkness

intensedarkness

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Y300, Desire, Nexus 4
Mobile data ('3G') reboots:

Those of us having such reboots, let me put something out there: these aren't 'random' for me, they occur in roughly the same geographical location and under relatively similar conditions. This may not be the case for everyone. Notwithstanding I will try to describe the conditions in which the reboots occur, see what you all make of the following:

It seems far more likely to happen when there is flickering mobile data connectivity, under similar conditions each time. Even more likely if there is an app running which is frequently and intermittently using background data. An example is on the trains/tube, where both GSM and 3G/HSPA connectivity flickers on and off as the trains quickly move between the range radius of various GSM/3G/HSPA masts. The reception indicator in the stutus bar flickers between blue and grey, while the 'H' remains visible, indicating changes in internet connectivity. The 'H' occasionally disappears briefly and returns as expected when GSM connectivity is established.

Similar things can be observed when in a populous area with tall buildings and I suspect fairly dense distribution of GSM/3G/HSDPA masts. "How can this cause reboots?" I hear you ask. Well as we all know the nature of the technology in question means that the phone is constantly searching for better signal, when it finds it, it locks on to the mast emitting that signal, until there is a stronger signal elsewhere. This should be a seamless experience to the user, which is why we normally expect that calls don't cut off as we walk down the street on the phone. But in central London areas (or any heavily built-up areas) where there are tall buildings and swarms of people, I frequently see my G300 go from 2 bars of reception with H, to no reception for 2-3 secs, and then up to 5 bars of reception with 3G. I suspect due to a change of phone mast. If this happens frequently enough, even when in the same location, the phone reboots.

Now I'm no dev, but by my reckoning the reboots are hard reboots, caused by a Kernel or Radio level unhandled exception, triggered by enough 3G/HSPA connectivity changes. This may explain why some people are not having issues - you're not under the conditions similar to described above frequently enough. I get the mobile data reboot about once every 4 working days, which means in/around one in every 8 train/tube journeys, assuming no meetings across town. Random reboots don't happen at home; suburban area with 4-5 bars of HSPA connectivity all the time. I suspect I'm near just one mast with a fairly large coverage radius, so minimal if any mobile data connectivity changes.

I highly doubt mobile data reboots are dependent on network provider, as I'm on the same network as people who have never had such reboots. I also doubt it's the age of the SIM card - those with newer sims <1 year old are also having the same issues.

Let me make it clear that what I have posted here, it's entirely based on my experience and observations.
Might be competely wrong and other people's experiences might contradict my own - always willing to learn. But either way:

Let the trolling begin :lol:

Edited by intensedarkness, 24 January 2013 - 12:56 PM.

  • 0

#1824
Higgy69

Higgy69

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
On the 'Infusion Rom' thread someone or a couple of people talked about certain locations causing the reboots. I think someone mentioned power lines caused a reboot (not touching them :P , but passing under/nearby).

From a recomendation (thanks to however it was) I use 'SIM Locked Notifier by Gianni Costanzi. That way if your phone reboots and you use 'sim lock' you can have the phone bleep to warn you.

  • 0

#1825
Gippox

Gippox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Humm, maybe you have isntalled CM9 instead of CM10? :D
CM10 is only at R5... CM9 is in R7...


I made a mistake, i meant R5 of course, sorry :P

Edited by Gippox, 24 January 2013 - 01:19 PM.

  • 0

#1826
soulhand

soulhand

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300, San Francisco 2
  • Twitter:@soulhand

Those of us having such reboots, let me put something out there: these aren't 'random' for me, they occur in roughly the same geographical location and under relatively similar conditions. This may not be the case for everyone.


My experience for reboots is essentially the same as yours.

  • 0

#1827
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
If someone could capture some kmsg output when there's a 3g reboot, it might just catch the problem. Not a regular logcat. See my signature :)

*Note* This would have to be caught in the act

Edited by tcpaulh, 25 January 2013 - 01:17 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#1828
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

Mobile data ('3G') reboots:


For what its worth I live in a rural area (lucky to get 3G) and have not had a single reboot (that I have noticed). Just out of interest, have people had reboots on stock GB or ICS ROM's due to 3G signals?

  • 0

#1829
Medo81

Medo81

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:Ascend G300
Awesome Rom. R5 is lovely. "Avanti Dazooo" :wub: Great Work. go on

have one problem:
panorama camera not working. :unsure:

will check if any other problem to report :) :D

  • 0

#1830
fmgc13

fmgc13

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

So you advise to use the the B952 update.app then upgrade to CM?



How do I do that?

  • 0

#1831
fuddman

fuddman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:Acer F900

Mobile data ('3G') reboots:

Those of us having such reboots, let me put something out there: these aren't 'random' for me, they occur in roughly the same geographical location and under relatively similar conditions. This may not be the case for everyone. Notwithstanding I will try to describe the conditions in which the reboots occur, see what you all make of the following:

It seems far more likely to happen when there is flickering mobile data connectivity, under similar conditions each time. Even more likely if there is an app running which is frequently and intermittently using background data. An example is on the trains/tube, where both GSM and 3G/HSPA connectivity flickers on and off as the trains quickly move between the range radius of various GSM/3G/HSPA masts. The reception indicator in the stutus bar flickers between blue and grey, while the 'H' remains visible, indicating changes in internet connectivity. The 'H' occasionally disappears briefly and returns as expected when GSM connectivity is established.

Similar things can be observed when in a populous area with tall buildings and I suspect fairly dense distribution of GSM/3G/HSDPA masts. "How can this cause reboots?" I hear you ask. Well as we all know the nature of the technology in question means that the phone is constantly searching for better signal, when it finds it, it locks on to the mast emitting that signal, until there is a stronger signal elsewhere. This should be a seamless experience to the user, which is why we normally expect that calls don't cut off as we walk down the street on the phone. But in central London areas (or any heavily built-up areas) where there are tall buildings and swarms of people, I frequently see my G300 go from 2 bars of reception with H, to no reception for 2-3 secs, and then up to 5 bars of reception with 3G. I suspect due to a change of phone mast. If this happens frequently enough, even when in the same location, the phone reboots.

Now I'm no dev, but by my reckoning the reboots are hard reboots, caused by a Kernel or Radio level unhandled exception, triggered by enough 3G/HSPA connectivity changes. This may explain why some people are not having issues - you're not under the conditions similar to described above frequently enough. I get the mobile data reboot about once every 4 working days, which means in/around one in every 8 train/tube journeys, assuming no meetings across town. Random reboots don't happen at home; suburban area with 4-5 bars of HSPA connectivity all the time. I suspect I'm near just one mast with a fairly large coverage radius, so minimal if any mobile data connectivity changes.

I highly doubt mobile data reboots are dependent on network provider, as I'm on the same network as people who have never had such reboots. I also doubt it's the age of the SIM card - those with newer sims <1 year old are also having the same issues.

Let me make it clear that what I have posted here, it's entirely based on my experience and observations.
Might be competely wrong and other people's experiences might contradict my own - always willing to learn. But either way:

Let the trolling begin :lol:


My 3g reboot experience is similar. I mostly get them while my phone is in the cradle in my car or when in my trouser pocket. I used to get one a day on any custom rom but went back to stock b952 generic a couple of days ago and haven't had one yet.

  • 0

#1832
ivan.arandjelovic

ivan.arandjelovic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4
Similar experience with 3G, reboots when traveling. BTW, it happened on stock 952 and stock+ rom as well.

Thanks for CM 10 R5, it's very nice but very far from being "daily rom" yet. I see that different people get different issues, so mine are:

- Excessive battery usage (3G all the time, but any activity on the phone eats up couple of percents), 20% during one night with no user activity at all (less then 8 hrs), seems that phone is very often in a "awake" status which should not be the case
- 3G reboots :(
- battery graph working, but no "per app" statistics
- very slow and laggy (compared to any ICS or GB rom), changing governors or minimal CPU speed does not help much (get's almost acceptable with "ondemand" and 320 MHZ min)
- keyboard often dissapears and needs few taps on the input field to appear again
- scrambled screen on the locker after reboot (but not always, usually OK if you leave it some time)
- EDIT: forgot strange in-call volume issue when the sound start at the OK level and suddenly becomes much to loud so reducing volume to minimum makes it barely acceptable
- etc.


but all in all, if the 3G reboots are resolved and battery life is improved it will be perfect :)

p.s. I'll try to get some kernel messages if possible

Edited by ivan.arandjelovic, 24 January 2013 - 09:56 PM.

  • 0

#1833
lejkabasz

lejkabasz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300
I am looking for a way to have more reduction of the minimum display brightness in yr fantastic Rom.

  • 0

#1834
Liesse

Liesse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:UK

I am looking for a way to have more reduction of the minimum display brightness in yr fantastic Rom.


Try Lux?

Downloaded R5. Thank you for all the work, Daz et all!

Was playing about with it while I should have been working at my desk today and messing around with Google Maps. Hmm, it didn't seem to be getting a lock on the GPS. Since my desk seems to be a bit of a blackhole for all things signall-y, I stuck it in the window for a bit. Still no GPS lock.
When I got home, I played with GPS Fix. Still no lock. This is a bit of a pain, since the phone has always been really quick at getting a lock, even on previous releases. This is essential when you have a boyfriend who has the directional sense of a housebrick, refuses to listen to you, but will listen to google maps and you need to find your way to somewhere. By this time I was getting frustrated. Time to try something radical. I opened the balcony door of my flat and stuck half of me and my arm with the phone outside, a bit terrified that a) I'd drop it in the snow two floors down or B) the neighbours would think I was mental or c) I might freeze.
GPS status took about 30 seconds to get a lock. I am now back inside and warm with working GPS.

So if your phone seems to be having trouble with GPS, get GPS Staus and hold the phone outside. Result.

  • 1

#1835
fiah84

fiah84

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hey guys. I've upgraded to R5 OTA, and so far I must say I'm very impressed with the performance, relative to the R2. I haven't really noticed any bugs yet, although I have to admit that I'm not a heavy user. Anyway, I'd like to add to the reboot discussion that I have not experienced one single spontaneous reboot, although I can remember a crash or two. When I read your suspisions on that it might be related to data network connectivity, it occurred to me that I never have 3G connectivity, it's either EDGE or HSDPA for me. As far as I know this is due to my provider not providing any 3G, it was like this back when I used the stock firmware as well.

  • 0

#1836
pepdavies

pepdavies

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I've never had a reboot with CM10 to my knowledge. Had several every day with CM9!

  • 0

#1837
popoyaya

popoyaya

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade V, Galaxy S3
I've only ever had a reboot with CM10 when I overclocked too much. At 1190 MHz it's rock solid.

  • 0

#1838
joandrade

joandrade

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@0xJoao

Mobile data ('3G') reboots:


Now that you mention it, I did have the 3G reboots only while moving on the tube or train.

  • 0
If I helped you, hit the green rep button. :)

#1839
malllik

malllik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hy guys.
I've upgraded to R5 from R4 and I have a new trouble with connection g300 to wireless router. g300 causes disconnecting of all devices and restart wifi router.
Router D-Link DIR-635.

Any ideas? Thanks

Excuse my bad English.

  • 0

#1840
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

I am looking for a way to have more reduction of the minimum display brightness in yr fantastic Rom.

+1 for the Lux app, but you need to get the pay version to take the brightness right down. Worth in though in my opinion. It's a great app

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users