Jump to content


Photo

Unlock your bootloader


  • Please log in to reply
197 replies to this topic

#1
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
The G510 has (by default) a locked bootloader.

you can check your device by putting it into fastboot mode (remove the battery, reinstall it, and then hold down Volume Up and Power for a couple of seconds) and then using the 'fastboot oem get-bootinfo' command:

Attached File  Untitled.png   164.91KB   549 downloads

To unlock your bootloader you need to need to request an unlock password from Huawei, via this url:

http://www.huaweidev...d=toApplyUnlock

Once you get your unlock password, follow the instructions from Huawei to unlock:

http://www.huaweidev...d=getUnlockStep

  • 0

#2
KenBW2

KenBW2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300 & G510, ZTE Blade
Wow, nice to see Huawei actively support unlocking the bootloader, at our own risks of course.

You stated in the other thread that it's Windows-only. I can't help noticing you're using OSX, and assumedly this extends to Linux. Confirmation either way?

Edit: also, the G510 isn't in that there list of phones, does any of them work?

Edited by KenBW2, 17 April 2013 - 09:19 PM.

  • 0

Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 + Root Tweaks > FusionX > CM10 > CM10.1 > CM10.2 > CM11 | Clockwork Recovery
Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 > CM 10.1 Sisco 1.0 kernel > TouchMeZ v1.4.1 > b190 Firmware Update > CM10.1 | TWRP Recovery
Huawei G510 Stock 4.1 > TouchMe v7 + AOSP Mod
Z.T.E. Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > CM7 > [GEN1>GEN2] > Ginger Stir Fry 9 > Blue Ginger V2 > [GEN2 > GEN3] > CM9 Alpha 5 > Simple Stir Fry Lite b27 > CM9 ColdFusionX 28/02/12 > KonstaT's CM10 > KonstaT's CM10.1 | Clockwork 5.0.2.0
Z.T.E. Blade OLED Stock 2.1 > JJ RLS5 > CM7 RC1 > Ippe H's Honeycomb A5 > Finnish Fillyjonk RLS6 > CM7 RC1 > Stock 2.1 | Clockwork 2.5.1.8 > 3.0.0.5
ZTE Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > MCR r3 | Clockwork 2.5.1.3 (
Replaced)
T-Mobile Pulse (Lots) > FLB2 > CM7 > CM6.1, Clockwork Recovery


#3
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

You stated in the other thread that it's Windows-only. I can't help noticing you're using OSX, and assumedly this extends to Linux. Confirmation either way?


There is a program on the Spanish forum that apparently you can use that will generate the code for you, but it's Windows only.. I've not linked it since I cant confirm what it does.. I was kinda hoping someone else would look into that.

If you can get the unlock code (from whatever source) fastboot will work on any (supported) OS

  • 0

#4
KenBW2

KenBW2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300 & G510, ZTE Blade
Oh so the actual unlocking can be done anywhere? Just need to get the unlock code from the Windows program? If so I'll just fire up a VM

  • 0

Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 + Root Tweaks > FusionX > CM10 > CM10.1 > CM10.2 > CM11 | Clockwork Recovery
Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 > CM 10.1 Sisco 1.0 kernel > TouchMeZ v1.4.1 > b190 Firmware Update > CM10.1 | TWRP Recovery
Huawei G510 Stock 4.1 > TouchMe v7 + AOSP Mod
Z.T.E. Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > CM7 > [GEN1>GEN2] > Ginger Stir Fry 9 > Blue Ginger V2 > [GEN2 > GEN3] > CM9 Alpha 5 > Simple Stir Fry Lite b27 > CM9 ColdFusionX 28/02/12 > KonstaT's CM10 > KonstaT's CM10.1 | Clockwork 5.0.2.0
Z.T.E. Blade OLED Stock 2.1 > JJ RLS5 > CM7 RC1 > Ippe H's Honeycomb A5 > Finnish Fillyjonk RLS6 > CM7 RC1 > Stock 2.1 | Clockwork 2.5.1.8 > 3.0.0.5
ZTE Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > MCR r3 | Clockwork 2.5.1.3 (
Replaced)
T-Mobile Pulse (Lots) > FLB2 > CM7 > CM6.1, Clockwork Recovery


#5
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Oh so the actual unlocking can be done anywhere? Just need to get the unlock code from the Windows program? If so I'll just fire up a VM


yeah, once you have the code it's just a 'fastboot oem unlock <code>'

I guess I could run up a copy of windows in VM, but last time I tried that in the office I got people laughing at me.

  • 0

#6
KenBW2

KenBW2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300 & G510, ZTE Blade

yeah, once you have the code it's just a 'fastboot oem unlock <code>'

I guess I could run up a copy of windows in VM, but last time I tried that in the office I got people laughing at me.


Meh, using Windows doesn't have to be a cardinal sin, it's good to use it every so often, otherwise you end up like the people I work with where all their criticisms haven't been true since the XP days. Good to keep up with the alternatives, even if it's not your OS of choice. So screw your colleagues :P

  • 0

Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 + Root Tweaks > FusionX > CM10 > CM10.1 > CM10.2 > CM11 | Clockwork Recovery
Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 > CM 10.1 Sisco 1.0 kernel > TouchMeZ v1.4.1 > b190 Firmware Update > CM10.1 | TWRP Recovery
Huawei G510 Stock 4.1 > TouchMe v7 + AOSP Mod
Z.T.E. Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > CM7 > [GEN1>GEN2] > Ginger Stir Fry 9 > Blue Ginger V2 > [GEN2 > GEN3] > CM9 Alpha 5 > Simple Stir Fry Lite b27 > CM9 ColdFusionX 28/02/12 > KonstaT's CM10 > KonstaT's CM10.1 | Clockwork 5.0.2.0
Z.T.E. Blade OLED Stock 2.1 > JJ RLS5 > CM7 RC1 > Ippe H's Honeycomb A5 > Finnish Fillyjonk RLS6 > CM7 RC1 > Stock 2.1 | Clockwork 2.5.1.8 > 3.0.0.5
ZTE Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > MCR r3 | Clockwork 2.5.1.3 (
Replaced)
T-Mobile Pulse (Lots) > FLB2 > CM7 > CM6.1, Clockwork Recovery


#7
dam ZTE

dam ZTE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:España
  • Devices:ZTE Link (N600) - Huawei G510
Hi, i´m user of spanish forum HTCmania, and for now isn´t posible to get the bootloader unlock code by other way that official support of Huawei. Best regards.

  • 0

#8
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Hi, i´m user of spanish forum HTCmania, and for now isn´t posible to get the bootloader unlock code by other way that official support of Huawei. Best regards.


My spanish is terrible, but what does the 'Unlock Huawei Device GUI' program do?

  • 0

#9
dam ZTE

dam ZTE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:España
  • Devices:ZTE Link (N600) - Huawei G510
I don´t meet that program (i think), where did you see it?

Edited by dam ZTE, 18 April 2013 - 12:48 AM.

  • 0

#10
dam ZTE

dam ZTE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:España
  • Devices:ZTE Link (N600) - Huawei G510
Ok, now!, it´s just a GUI for Fastboot, you don´t need to type nothing in cmd.exe.

Someone said that maybe the unlock code has a direct relationship with the IMEI, but nobody is working on that.

Edited by dam ZTE, 18 April 2013 - 12:45 AM.

  • 0

#11
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Ok, now!, it´s just a GUI for Fastboot, you don´t need to type nothing in cmd.exe.

Someone said that maybe the unlock code has a direct relationship with the IMEI, but nobody is working on that.


Ah, thanks I did wonder, but yeah I tried it now and I see its just a Fancy wrapper around adb/fastboot :)

  • 0

#12
KenBW2

KenBW2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300 & G510, ZTE Blade

Ah, thanks I did wonder, but yeah I tried it now and I see its just a Fancy wrapper around adb/fastboot :)


So no need for the Windows program?

  • 0

Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 + Root Tweaks > FusionX > CM10 > CM10.1 > CM10.2 > CM11 | Clockwork Recovery
Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 > CM 10.1 Sisco 1.0 kernel > TouchMeZ v1.4.1 > b190 Firmware Update > CM10.1 | TWRP Recovery
Huawei G510 Stock 4.1 > TouchMe v7 + AOSP Mod
Z.T.E. Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > CM7 > [GEN1>GEN2] > Ginger Stir Fry 9 > Blue Ginger V2 > [GEN2 > GEN3] > CM9 Alpha 5 > Simple Stir Fry Lite b27 > CM9 ColdFusionX 28/02/12 > KonstaT's CM10 > KonstaT's CM10.1 | Clockwork 5.0.2.0
Z.T.E. Blade OLED Stock 2.1 > JJ RLS5 > CM7 RC1 > Ippe H's Honeycomb A5 > Finnish Fillyjonk RLS6 > CM7 RC1 > Stock 2.1 | Clockwork 2.5.1.8 > 3.0.0.5
ZTE Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > MCR r3 | Clockwork 2.5.1.3 (
Replaced)
T-Mobile Pulse (Lots) > FLB2 > CM7 > CM6.1, Clockwork Recovery


#13
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

So no need for the Windows program?


No its not what I though it was, its just the standard fastboot

  • 0

#14
jimwormold

jimwormold

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Huawei G510, Nexus7
Any idea how long the request takes? I put mine in a couple of days ago, but haven't heard anything, and it's hotting up in here!

  • 0

#15
strowger

strowger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Just for anyone else who is struggling - fastboot mode is accessed with VolumeDown+Power. VolumeUp+Power is Recovery.

  • 0

#16
KenBW2

KenBW2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Y300 & G510, ZTE Blade

To unlock your bootloader you need to need to request an unlock password from Huawei, via this url:

http://www.huaweidev...d=toApplyUnlock


I'm having difficulty with this part, I don't see G510 in the list of models. Can we just choose anything from the list?

  • 0

Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 + Root Tweaks > FusionX > CM10 > CM10.1 > CM10.2 > CM11 | Clockwork Recovery
Huawei Y 300 Stock 4.1 > CM 10.1 Sisco 1.0 kernel > TouchMeZ v1.4.1 > b190 Firmware Update > CM10.1 | TWRP Recovery
Huawei G510 Stock 4.1 > TouchMe v7 + AOSP Mod
Z.T.E. Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > CM7 > [GEN1>GEN2] > Ginger Stir Fry 9 > Blue Ginger V2 > [GEN2 > GEN3] > CM9 Alpha 5 > Simple Stir Fry Lite b27 > CM9 ColdFusionX 28/02/12 > KonstaT's CM10 > KonstaT's CM10.1 | Clockwork 5.0.2.0
Z.T.E. Blade OLED Stock 2.1 > JJ RLS5 > CM7 RC1 > Ippe H's Honeycomb A5 > Finnish Fillyjonk RLS6 > CM7 RC1 > Stock 2.1 | Clockwork 2.5.1.8 > 3.0.0.5
ZTE Blade TFT Stock 2.1 > MCR r3 | Clockwork 2.5.1.3 (
Replaced)
T-Mobile Pulse (Lots) > FLB2 > CM7 > CM6.1, Clockwork Recovery


#17
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

I'm having difficulty with this part, I don't see G510 in the list of models. Can we just choose anything from the list?


U8950 would do it I think

  • 0

#18
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

I'm having difficulty with this part, I don't see G510 in the list of models. Can we just choose anything from the list?


I picked 'HUAWEI U8950-51'

  • 0

#19
jimwormold

jimwormold

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Huawei G510, Nexus7

I picked 'HUAWEI U8950-51'


I'm pretty sure I did too, last Thursday. Has anyone had any success with this yet?

I noticed that there is a chinese version of the webpage which has the U8951-0010, but it doesn't allow me to submit so I presume something doesn't match with this model and the IMEI, SN and product number of my phone

http://www.huaweidev...ethod=preUnlock

  • 0

#20
dam ZTE

dam ZTE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:España
  • Devices:ZTE Link (N600) - Huawei G510
After you send the info in the cuestionary, usually the send to you an answer that you send the incorrect model, just reply this mail with corrects model, imei, etc.. and wait. Some people get it in a few hours, others waits for days.

Edited by dam ZTE, 23 April 2013 - 03:45 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users