Jump to content


Photo

[FIRMWARE UPDATE] Y300 B190


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#1
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)
Hi Folks...just noticed this over at Android Hilfe...Y300-0100 build update to B190...definitely seems a bit snappier than shipped (B176) firmware.


Posted Image


File you download is a zipped TWRP backup file...unzip and manually place it in the TWRP backup folder on your SD card...enter recovery and flash it via the restore button.

I had to manually enter my APN for 3G to work...all fun & games though eh!!!


This is the forum link:

http://www.android-h...001c00b182.html


Link for download:

https://docs.google....pdHM/edit?pli=1

Edited by leetron1, 15 June 2013 - 07:04 PM.

  • 1

#2
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
Is there a way to flash this safely via CWM?

  • 0

#3
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)

Is there a way to flash this safely via CWM?


hi there...the folder contains specific TWRP backup files so would say almost certainly not...flash TWRP recovery then you should be good to go ;)

  • 0

#4
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
Ok I flashed TWRP, but it can't seem to find the folder when I enter Restore. There's nothing listed on the screen. Ideas?

Edit: I tried this version instead: https://docs.google....2Fha2hSTGs/edit but that fails to update halfway through.

Edited by Pierreism, 17 June 2013 - 08:33 PM.

  • 0

#5
leetron1

leetron1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumbria
  • Devices:Ascend Y300 (Orange Blade)

Ok I flashed TWRP, but it can't seem to find the folder when I enter Restore. There's nothing listed on the screen. Ideas?

Edit: I tried this version instead: https://docs.google....2Fha2hSTGs/edit but that fails to update halfway through.


First do a backup with the ROM you are currently on using TWRP...this will be stored in folder 'backup' on SD...put the unzipped folder from the download into this 'backup' folder then enter TWRP and you should have 2 restore files...restore the B190 file...eh voila

  • 1

#6
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
Oops, it doesn't seem to work.

When I have both folders in the backup folder, the Restore still only shows me one for some reason.

Edit: Okay now I see, the BACKUP folder creates another folder inside of it, and you have to put it inside THAT folder. So the B190 update is pasted in TWRP > BACKUP > xxxxx > here

Edit 2: Success! I'm glad they've made it much closer to stock, but the phone as a whole doesn't seem much faster to me. Thanks for the help anyway leetron1!

Edited by Pierreism, 17 June 2013 - 10:06 PM.

  • 0

#7
ZolaIII

ZolaIII

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 892 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Y300-100
It's not supposed to be faster bat more stable with bug fixes for Bluetooth, Viber & so on.
Both firmware's are for the Asian market so they are not fully optimized yet! Bat i think that we will have official international update soon!
& this is stock!

  • 0

#8
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
I meant no-bloat, vanilla Jelly Bean. Although with Holo Launcher HD installed you hardly even need it.

  • 0

#9
ZolaIII

ZolaIII

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 892 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Y300-100
I like Holo HD bat it have relative big memory usage so it restarts often & that can never me a lot...

  • 0

#10
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
Okay: new problem :(

I can't seem to save an APN profile. Whenever I hit 'Save', it boots me back to a blank APN List. If I just enter in the profile name and APN however, it seems to save. It's only when I fill in the rest of the details that refuses.

  • 0

#11
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
This was a life saver for me as I messed up my stock...

For the APN, you need to press the menu key and save, it doesn't just remember your settings when you hit back.

Edited by TangerineTractor, 08 July 2013 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#12
dexterul

dexterul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
  • Twitter:@dexterul
before installing it i wanted to ask if there are any other problems other than the APN problem
is microphone on viber fixed ?
720p video work ?
notification bar is full and operational ?
did they added the Move to SD option ?

umm thats all i can think at this moment

  • 0

#13
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
My APN problem wasn't a problem in the end. I just had my APN details wrong from the network and apparently it doesn't save if it can't connect properly. Haven't tried viber but there's no 720p video. Notification bar works fine, but I don't think anything has changed with SD storage.

Edited by Pierreism, 13 July 2013 - 01:40 AM.

  • 0

#14
dexterul

dexterul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
  • Twitter:@dexterul

My APN problem wasn't a problem in the end. I just had my APN details wrong from the network and apparently it doesn't save if it can't connect properly. Haven't tried viber but there's no 720p video. Notification bar works fine, but I don't think anything has changed with SD storage.



when i bought the phone i could make 720p videos with its stock rom , but afterward when i downloaded the official b175 from the website , there was no more 720p and no more notification panel toggles ...


is it hard to convert this B190 recovery in a B190 firmware update ? so you dont have to install everything afterward ?

Edited by dexterul, 13 July 2013 - 12:22 PM.

  • 0

#15
dexterul

dexterul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
  • Twitter:@dexterul
notification panel doesnt work on my phone , i have no toggles :( sad :(

  • 1

#16
asterixx93

asterixx93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello, I need a big help, I am a holder of Y300-00XX and I have the fw version B169 BRAND wind (Italian) Does anyone have a backup of the B182 or B190 with the Italian language? Can I do a restore directly from TWRP having the B169? Many thanks to all of you.

  • 0

#17
Pushpe

Pushpe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Y300
Thanks, You save me. by the way Notification setting is disabled, is there a way to enable it

  • 0

#18
Pierreism

Pierreism

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male

when i bought the phone i could make 720p videos with its stock rom , but afterward when i downloaded the official b175 from the website , there was no more 720p and no more notification panel toggles ...


is it hard to convert this B190 recovery in a B190 firmware update ? so you dont have to install everything afterward ?


Apparently you can enable 720p capture in the build.prop, but because of the bad framerate it isn't worth the trouble. As for the last sentence, not quite sure what you mean. I just followed the instructions above and flashed the file via TWRP. Notification toggles + settings do seem to have gone though. *shrug*

  • 0

#19
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
I would recommend to anybody not to do updates between roms or versions, but always to do a wipe and install, or in this case restore the backup. In most cases, it's really a case of entering a few settings and reinstalling apps through Google play. In my expertise, updating ruins leads to issues and bugs that the devs have not seen because they can not have tested in that unique scenario.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#20
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
anyone know if there is an update.app for this B190 ?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users