Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][ZTE Skate] H3 Holo (Dolby Audio + Linaro optimized kernel + frandom + ROW I/O scheduler)

* * * * * 6 votes

389 replies to this topic

#281
wildhelios

wildhelios

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Thank you, H3ROS!

i moved the file you indicated but the pre-configured APNs remained in the settings, without being able to delete them or edit.

By moving the file apns-conf.xml to the sdcard, shouldn't the APNs configured disappear from the settings, upon reboot?


  • 0

#282
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Thank you, H3ROS!

i moved the file you indicated but the pre-configured APNs remained in the settings, without being able to delete them or edit.

By moving the file apns-conf.xml to the sdcard, shouldn't the APNs configured disappear from the settings, upon reboot?

Yeah, unless they got relocated to a database.

 

I'm not sure if you can download this app, but it's one I use on my phone and I know it allows you to delete all APN info.

 

https://play.google.....giffgaffsetapn


  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#283
wildhelios

wildhelios

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Yes, i was able to download that app, and successfully delete the APNs.

Thank you.

Problem solved.


  • 0

#284
wildhelios

wildhelios

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Is there any way to reduce the time for the screen to turn on, during a phone call, after i remove the phone from my ear?

Often, I want to use the "high-speaker" function ( I don't know the correct designation in english), but the screen remains black, and so I cannot access the screen functions.

Thank you.


  • 0

#285
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

That's normally something that calibrating the proximity sensor can improve. You should find the option under ROM options in the settings menu.


  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#286
Horstorm

Horstorm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate - H3 Holo

Thanks H3ROS,

 

firstly I have to say: unbelievable amazing ROM. Good-looking, stable, easy installation and with no bugs or errors. Great job!

 

Unfortunately, I have to say that I'm experiencing an issue. It's about Dolby audio. I like it, but I want to have it swithed off on default. The issue is that when i reboot phone Dolby is on, while in settings it looks like it is still switched off. I have to turn it on and off and everything is ok. It is just insignificant bug, but if it could be solved, the ROM will be totally perfect.

 

And there is another bug, that can have nothing to do with ROM but with my service provider. Sometimes, using HSDPA, it gets stuck on upload and cannot do anything. Turning mobile data off then on does fix it. Also insignificant when there is switcher in notification bar.

 

As you can see after using this rom for 3 months i found only these two issues. It's unbelievable how stable the ROM is, with all the functions, no bugs and it is still being developed and supported! Thank you a lot. Hats off to H3ROS!

 

Can't wait to see another update. I'm looking forward to have battery in percentage.

 

 

PS: I hope that it is intelligible. My english is not good enough.


  • 0

#287
sezox

sezox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Another bug with dolby, idk if you already know about it. When dolby on with other souds, for example dial pad tones, when using dial pad  there is a quiet sound coming from speaker after i touched something... Don't know how to put it in english... Its like have your pc's speakers on, and on high sound and you're not listening to anything and you can hear an interference sound or something. 

 

Anyways, downloaded this rom just to try when released, using it ever since :) I kept my phone wothout reboot for 1000+ hours, no bugs or bigger lags appeared. Now thats a quality!


  • 0

#288
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

All of the Dolby issues are unfortunately issues found in the stock Orange Monte Carlo ROM, so they're not fixable. I could maybe work around the Dolby setting not being remembered after a reboot though. I'd just need to figure out how to enable and disable Dolby again and I could then include that fix into my audio rerouter app.

 

I'm still not sure what to do with the launcher for the next update, since Holo Launcher now looks like KitKat and this ROM's designed to look more like Jelly Bean. Other launchers e.g. ADW and modded Chinese ones have drained the battery much faster during my tests due to the animations and extra bloat. The Chinese ones have a lot of suspicious code within them too, so although they appear to be very smooth I feel it's too much of a security risk to include one. I may just modify the last ICS/JB themed version of Holo Launcher so that it can't be updated. The other option is that I put off the update for a while longer and create a basic KitKat theme.


  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#289
Horstorm

Horstorm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate - H3 Holo

All of the Dolby issues are unfortunately issues found in the stock Orange Monte Carlo ROM, so they're not fixable. I could maybe work around the Dolby setting not being remembered after a reboot though. I'd just need to figure out how to enable and disable Dolby again and I could then include that fix into my audio rerouter app.

 

I'm still not sure what to do with the launcher for the next update, since Holo Launcher now looks like KitKat and this ROM's designed to look more like Jelly Bean. Other launchers e.g. ADW and modded Chinese ones have drained the battery much faster during my tests due to the animations and extra bloat. The Chinese ones have a lot of suspicious code within them too, so although they appear to be very smooth I feel it's too much of a security risk to include one. I may just modify the last ICS/JB themed version of Holo Launcher so that it can't be updated. The other option is that I put off the update for a while longer and create a basic KitKat theme.

 

Thanks for response.

 

About that launcher, i suggest not-updateable modified Holo launcher and mod, that will make it updateable if it isn't too much extra work. Basic KitKat theme is needless for me. I love this theme.


  • 0

#290
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

The main problem I have with a KitKat theme is that the current theme is designed to use the dark Holo colour scheme, but KitKat uses whites a lot more. That could mean that I'd need to redesign things like the dialer, which isn't easy to do when you're not working from source.

 

I guess I might release the next update with the ICS/JB themed Holo Launcher and then I'll start work on a KitKat theme for them who want it.


  • 1

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#291
ousZTE

ousZTE

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Algiers, Algeria
  • Interests:Costum ROMs, ROM cotumisation
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

@H3ROS

2 months i'm using your rom no problem ,no problem at all...until yesterday i'm havig FC on media (android.process.media has FC) pleas help me ,i can't play music NO sonde on call nor notifier :(

edit:

can't eaven connect play store and DroidVPN can't detect a port and i'm geting Error when turning WiFi on from statut bar


Edited by ousZTE, 09 January 2014 - 12:57 PM.

  • 0

#292
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Do you have anything liked to the SD-EXT partition? It sounds like your SD card had some corruption or something.

 

You could try clearing the cache and rebuilding the dalvik cache from CWM, but I'm not sure if it'll work.


  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#293
Horstorm

Horstorm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate - H3 Holo

Yesterday I have experienced another bug. The battery was low and I needed sth to do so I turned it back on and when it started to shut off again the battery was totally empty and it doesn't turn off properly. After I turn it on, I noticed that all system settings were set to deafult, even security pattern. Is there sth to do, that it won't happen again?

 

PS: How does it look with an update?


  • 0

#294
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

If you've got an SD EXT partition set up and it loses power suddenly when shutting down then there could be data loss. Think of it like how if you unplug a USB memory stick from a PC without unmounting it first. Sometimes it'll be fine, but sometimes things can go very wrong.

 

As for the theme update, I've not started work on that yet. Android stuff in general is a low priority for me right now as I'm still working, but I'm looking for a new job. If the Skate was a newer device and I was receiving donations then I'd work on it more, but it's old now and doesn't get much attention anymore. That plus the few donations I did receive were for the ROM itself, which has less issues than even the official Skate ROM's.

 

In a few months I'll probably get a new phone as I want something better than ARMv6 and my phones covered in little scratches. Even the usb sockets loose from charging it and all of the debugging I've done.


Edited by H3ROS, 18 January 2014 - 12:13 AM.

  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#295
Horstorm

Horstorm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate - H3 Holo

I kew that it hasn't anything to do with rom. Thanks for making it clear to me. About an update, I do understand. I'm thinking about buying a new phone too. But could you help me with another issue..? When I'm trying to install a new app, the phone reboots and don't install it. It's a problem, because I can not get any new app. Where is the problem?

 

EDIT: Problem solved... UGBADQ


Edited by Horstorm, 18 January 2014 - 01:33 PM.

  • 0

#296
marko_serb

marko_serb

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Devices:HTC Blue Angel :)

Anyone knows how to prevent StatusBar from hanging after changing the DPI (ro.sf.lcd_density=180) in build.prop?


  • 0

#297
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

The ROM's currently not designed to work at anything but the default DPI. Using fixed sizes is a design choice I had to make when creating the ROM to work around some issues to make it look more like Jelly Bean.

 

I do plan on addressing DPI issues, but for the time being the workaround is to install the Gingerbread version of Xposed framework and use the XposedAppSettings module as that'll allow you to set per app DPI.

 

 

Edit: I think the most you can get is 200 DPI. That'll have minor UI bugs, but no matter what launcher you use it'll be slower.


Edited by H3ROS, 20 January 2014 - 06:44 PM.

  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk


#298
marko_serb

marko_serb

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Devices:HTC Blue Angel :)

Thanks man! The ROM really looks fast. DPI can be set to 190 without any problems, and it also works fast (scrolling is not hardware accelerated anyways).


  • 0

#299
Randomness.

Randomness.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate 4.2.2

Hi there, nice work on the ROM! I'd like to try it hoping I'll stay on it for a while, but...

 

malicious.jpg

 

I'm a bit confused now. How can we fix this? Cheers

 

<Edit> Downloaded it with another browser, it's all good now.


Edited by Randomness., 21 January 2014 - 01:40 PM.

  • 0

#300
H3ROS

H3ROS

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Weird that Chrome blocked it. I'll have to try to get them to remove that.


  • 0

BNqXLPC.pnghIMMF2y.png

If you like my ROM's then please consider a donation. A lot of time and effort went into them. Thank you.

My blog website: codeshed.co.uk





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users