Jump to content


Photo

a few questions befor i buy a moto g


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
Hi all,

I am thinking of buying a moto g today from tesco UK, and I just want to check a few things beforer I do.

1. I only have internet access on my phone and can't tether to my laptop ( :( giffgaff :( ) Will I be able to unlock my bootloader?

2. I see you cant remove the battery, what happens if I get a boot loop, is there a way to reset the phone.

3. I want to flash the 4.4 update, which i see contains a new bootloader, will this relock my bootloader .

Any advice would be grate, thankyou in advance.

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#2
Nuno Ferreira

Nuno Ferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G Nexus 7

Hi all,

I am thinking of buying a moto g today from tesco UK, and I just want to check a few things beforer I do.

1. I only have internet access on my phone and can't tether to my laptop ( :( giffgaff :( ) Will I be able to unlock my bootloader? > Don´t know, yes u can unlock bootloader

2. I see you cant remove the battery, what happens if I get a boot loop, is there a way to reset the phone. > hold power button to turn it off, vol.down+power reboot

3. I want to flash the 4.4 update, which i see contains a new bootloader, will this relock my bootloader . > No

Any advice would be grate, thankyou in advance.

 

U are welcome


  • 1

#3
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
Thanks, off to Tesco I go :) :) :)

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#4
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
Just one more question, when they are described as 8gb/16gb dose this refer to the size of the internal SD or are the system and data partitions included in the stated storage?

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#5
Nuno Ferreira

Nuno Ferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G Nexus 7

Just one more question, when they are described as 8gb/16gb dose this refer to the size of the internal SD or are the system and data partitions included in the stated storage?

 

Yeah,

 

i got a 8GB model, and 5.52GB available for media content


  • 0

#6
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981

Yeah, i got a 8GB model, and 5.52GB available for media content


:(

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#7
MickJack

MickJack

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300 & Moto G 16gig
I have the 16 gig, 12.92 available, I am using about 4 for apps,pictures,music so 8.5 left, no games.

am giff gaff, £10 goody bag allows tether (1gig/month) that I find worth it (same as I did on G300).

Edited by MickJack, 27 December 2013 - 01:05 PM.

  • 0

#8
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
Has anyone been unable to unlock there bootloader on a tesco device as my girlfriend has a Sony miro from tesco and bootloader unlocking is not allowed

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#9
MickJack

MickJack

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300 & Moto G 16gig

Has anyone been unable to unlock there bootloader on a tesco device as my girlfriend has a Sony miro from tesco and bootloader unlocking is not allowed


Both sticky posts from Paul regarding rooting contain links for bootloader unlock, not tried myself but assume it's a first step before rooting and adding roms etc.

  • 0

#10
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
I have been to the Motorola web site, my question is has anyone entered the code from the phone , and been told that they cannot unlock there bootloader,

I haven't seen any posts about it but just wanted to check.

Edited by plewis1981, 28 December 2013 - 04:11 PM.

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#11
eLJay

eLJay

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate (Orange Monte Carlo)

I bought a 16GB one from Tesco. £2.03 and it is sim unlocked, not looking to unlock the bootloader as I run some Banking software that needs it locked down.


Edited by eLJay, 01 January 2014 - 01:18 AM.

  • 0

#12
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

I bought a 16GB one from Tesco. £2.03 and it is sim unlocked, not looking to unlock the bootloader as I run some Banking software that needs it locked down.

 

unlocking the bootloader wont affect them, its only root that does that, but there is an xposed module than can hide root from apps 


  • 0

#13
spreedom

spreedom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Moto G

Rootcloak doesn't work with Barclays mobile banking though apparently..  :(


Edited by spreedom, 01 January 2014 - 07:23 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users