Windows media encoder 9 settings

Guest zzzz

Hi. Newbie here.

Just wondering what settings people use on WME9 to view dvd,s on your mpx media player.

I go to... New Session.....Convert a file.......Then I browse and enter my source file and output file...Then do you use Pocket Pc? I have only had success with this setting I use standard video and voice audio (Cd quality audio doesnt seem to work)

I get a lot of freeze frame with these settings but if I go to.....Properties....Video size....and change 208 W 160 H to...160 W 120 H..

These settings seem to work ok for me. The old WME7 wouldnt play my dvd's on my MPX after I converted the VOB files but when I downloaded WME9 and converted my VOB files they seemed to play ok.

Anyone else know of any better settings although I think these would be hard to beat and is the pocket pc settings the only one you can use to view videos on your mpx or can you use window media server or web server?

Thanks for anyones time!

Thanks for the reply Martin.

In what way is the Betaplayer better and is it worth me getting rid of WMP and dowloading betaplayer?

Is the picture quality better and can you fast forward through a movie for example?

If so where can I get it and how do I uninstall WMP?

Thanks again for your time. :)

Guest martin

You can find links for betaplayer and PocketDivXEncoder at http://betaplayer.corecodec.org/

Personally I use PocketDivXEncoder to convert files to AVI and then Betaplayer to play the files. You could also use VirtualDub to code the files if you prefer.

Check this modaco link for more info on betaplayer :)

http://www.modaco.com/viewtopic.php?t=108193

Let us know what you think.

BTW You don't need to uninstall WMP.

Excellent! Cheers Martin!

Have just downloaded it.

Must say first impressions are it looks great and lots of settings to choose from.

Will get back to you when ive had a chance to convert some dvd's.

Thanks again.

Guest martin

Hee Hee, told you it was good :)