Homechoice television service and wifi

Guest Dr Who

I am moving into a new flat next week and am planning to get the Homechoice television and broadband service. They offer a wifi connection package but want to charge me £125 for the router, the first adapter and installation and I want to run 2 laptops from it, and they want to charge an extra £50 for another adapter. I have no wifi experience but I am sure I could set it up and begrudge paying that much. Does anyone know if you have to get the wifi package from them or whether you can buy an off-the-shelf router and configure it yourself? Any suggestions for a router and adapter?

i have had homechoice up and running for about 10 days. the tv is average but the broadband (especially at 1mb) is fantastic.

i had to buy i new router. the netgear one i had has a modem inside and cannot be connected to the homechoice modem (silver box thing). to replace it i used a Linksys WRT54G availablr here http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopD...9&ShopGroupID=8

it ran first time when set up. just plug it into the silver box, power up the silver box, then power up the router. it should do it all for you :)

i am currently running two laptops off it. you will need a wireless card for your laptop, such as this http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopD...rdbus%20Adapter

or this http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopD...rdbus%20Adapter

or any other really.

let me know how it goes.

ps you dont have to buy stuff from broadbandbuyer, but they have beemn very good for me in the past.

so all told. one router and two cards should set you back around £100. dont buy their one!

Cheers idavid, that is exactly what I needed!!!

Why is the TV average? Is the picture quality poor? If so is it worse than NTL - I hope not!!! Or is it just the channel selection? Don't s'pose you have tried Sky through Homechoice have you?