i'm confused - newbie

Guest chen_d

hi, everyone.. im a lil bit confused with smartphones..

i hope someone there is kind enough to teach me

smartphones 101 - genealogy =) im new to the

smartphone world.. and i want to buy one.. im here in

the US.. i'll buy it here.. but i'll be using it in manila

1. what smartphones are being used in manila? pls. include the old versions (e.g. SAP?)

2. what's SAP? SAP 2? I could distinguish O2 phones.. but the rest

i can't understand.. like the dopod, QTEK, i-mate, HTC, orange? what's

all that? are they the same hardware?

3. what do you call them there in manila and what's their equivalent to other names (e.g. voyager, c500, etc)?

thanks/chen

Guest gpcarreon (MVP)

Hi chen. Welcome to the Pinoy Section of MoDaCo Smartphone Forum. :D

1. Old Smart Amazing Phone or SAP1 aka Tanager. New SAP2 or Voyager

2. HTC (High Tech Computers) in Taiwan is the manufacturer of the Windows-powered Smartphones (SPV) used by Service providers like Smart Telecoms Philippines, Orange in Europe, Imate in Australia, Dopod in China. Im not sure though what country Qtek phones came from. All I know is they have a .nu (dot N U ) as domain name (www.qtek.nu) :lol:

Here are some picture guides:

http://www.wmdevices.com/smartcom.htm

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/dev...phone/apac.mspx

Orange SPV evolution:

http://smartphone.modaco.com/viewtopic.php...p=472810#472810

The SPV stands for Sounds, Pictures and Videos. Service providers gave names to this 'generic' term. Orange first released the SPV, followed by SPVe100, SPVe200 then lately the C500. Smart Philippines released 2. First the Smart Amazing Phone 1 (SAP1) then Voyager (SAP2). No C500 units/equivalent here yet.

3. Here in Manila, old SAP1 is similar to Orange SPVe100, running Smartphone2002 OS. SAP2 on the other is the latest Smartphone model here. They call it 'Voyager', similar to Orange e200 running Smartphone2003 Operating System.