Camera Noise

Guest martinmacca

Guest martinmacca

I work in a store where theres loads of fit birds regularly shopping 8) Just wondered if there was any way of deactivating the camera shutter noise when takin a photo, as theres no way me or my workmates can get a descent pic unless its at a distance. Tried puttingthe phone on silent & tried turning off the system sounds, but still no luck. Cant seem to find the sound when im exploring the phones folders neither :x

Guest Monolithix [MVP]
I believe Neil Enns once said it had been put in for security reasons?  It was in a post on the newsgroup...

security reasons? same sort of reasons as the disclaimers over conversation recorders?

Guest pibrahim

IIRC, I'm fairly certain he used an example of Japan, and photos being taken of people without them knowing, etc., or something like that, and the noise was partly designed to counter that...

I'll try and find the post on Google groups.

Guest pibrahim

Found a post in the NG that referred to Neil Enn's post:

"I don't think it's possible, sorry. I think someone from MS said it was

necessary to meet privacy laws in countries like Japan that say cameras must

also make a noise to warn those whose photo may be taken."

Thread was called Camera Sound, started 10/01/2003

Guest trowsell

Heard on the news the other day that a lot of leisure center etc are baning use of phones in changing rooms since f****d up kiddie fiddlers are going in and taking photos of kids. Another good reason for the noise to be played.

I can't help but think you would notice someone pointing a phone camera at you tho?

With a normal camera yes. With a phone camera it's more difficult: Is that weirdo in the corner texting or taking photos?

Guest youngerpants