Paul's Day Job

Guest PaulOBrien

Guest Paul [MVP]

Many of you will know that I have a day job as well as running MoDaCo, fewer of you will know what it is ;-)

Well, I work in a Technology Leadership (read R&D) team for Norwich Union, the UK's largest insurer, and I am currently a consultant taking a technical lead role on a project called 'Pay As You Drive'.

Today is a very exciting day for us, as we have brought our first product to market!

Info:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4167347.stm

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/story/0...1388623,00.html

Pretty cool eh?

I also drove 7 hours today with a 4 hour meeting in the middle, and i'm knackered ;-)

P

Guest Gorskar

It makes sense though - thats when the young boy-racers think that roads revert from public thoughafare to private rally tracks (+ when drink related accidents are more likely to occur)

The GPS I assume is used for tracking the amount of miles done.

Tracking stolen cars with it I guess is a useful side-benefit.

Very Cool

It is however rediculously big-brother-ish :shock:

Guest Paul [MVP]

Exactly, it's the perfect application of the Pay-As-You-Drive concept! :D

Yeah, the GPS does exactly that.

I'm interested in people's perceptions of the 'big brother' element... what makes it 'big brother'?

P

Guest beersoft

does it have bluetooth, and can we run $gpsnavsoftwre with it :D

it is cool tho, some of the kids on the road today need some looking after

/me gets back to grumbling about how much his insurance is, and why isn't there a modaco plus discount from NU

later

Owen

Guest Gorskar

Well, the GPS (tied in with a street map) could be used to get an exact picture of ALL your movements.

It COULD use that information to see if you drive on high accident roads, how often, and how far by you exceed the speed limits etc.

Then of course you have to be very VERY careful about who has access to this data.