The Downside of Camera Phones

Guest phillyjaq

Guest phillyjaq

Ok, this is going to sound strange, but I HATE camera phones. Let’s start with the simple fact that not one of them is very good for actually taking pictures. Sure a candid shot here or there, or that pricelss moment when you are walking down the street and see an obscenely expensive car with a boot on it (the only time I was ever happy about having a camera phone Mercedes G Wagon with a boot!) but I digress… how many people go to the birthday party, family get together or wedding armed with their cell phone to capture the memories.

I'm a consultant and as such I am constantly visiting different companies. I currently carry an Audiovox SMT5600 smartphone and it's perfect for me, except for the camera. I'm finding that more and more, certain companies are not allowing camera phones on the premises (banking and engineering firms especially). Now, I also have an MPX200 that I can switch my SIM to when necessary and thanks to the OTA activesync I can keep both phones up to date. My question is this. The smartphone is a serious business tool and I doubt any business person is worried about having a camera on their phone so why put it there? If you are paying 300 to 500 dollars for a phone… I’m sure you can afford a real digital camera anyway.

Lately, I've even had to check my phone going into some of the bars and clubs in town. Seems there have been some issues (and lawsuits of course) with people using the phones to take pictures of people at.... inopportune moments or from certain inappropriate angles... I'm sure you follow.

Now, I understand that the camera is a popular feature, and no company wants to make two versions of the same phone as it’s simply not cost effective. I also buy into the dream that one day the cameras will be used for wireless video communication.