Visto files against Microsoft over Push Email

Guest PaulOBrien

Guest Paul [MVP]

Push e-mail pioneer Visto has filed legal action against Microsoft for 'misappropriating the technology that Visto and its cofounder helped develop nearly a decade ago'.

DOH! :)

An excerpt from the press release follows... the full copy of which can be found here

As one of many eagerly anticipating MSFP and the push email functionality that it brings, I sincerely hope this doesn't impact the anticipated Q1 2006 release of MSFP. :D HOWEVER, upon reading the filing, Visto are requesting, as well as damages and costs, an injunction against Microsoft to prevent them offering products that are deemed to be infringing the patent.

Will Visto succeed? I'm not a lawyer so I can't answer that, but from a good-of-the-consumer point of view, I'm inclined to hope for an MS victory on this one... ;)

P

Visto Corporation has filed a legal action against Microsoft (NASDAQ: MSFT) for misappropriating Visto’s intellectual property. The complaint asserts that Microsoft has infringed upon multiple patents Visto holds regarding proprietary technology that provides enterprises and consumers with mobile access to their email and other data. The company is seeking a permanent injunction that would prohibit Microsoft from misappropriating the technology that Visto and its cofounder helped develop nearly a decade ago.

“Microsoft has a long and well-documented history of acquiring the technology of others, branding it as their own, and entering new markets,” said Mr. Bogosian. “In some cases, they buy that technology from its creator. In other cases, they wrongfully misappropriate the intellectual property that belongs to others, which has forced them to acknowledge and settle large IP cases with companies like Sun, AT&T and Burst.com. For their foray into mobile email and data access, Microsoft simply decided to misappropriate Visto’s well known and documented patented technology.”