PPC themes & today screen designing

Guest drblow

Guest drblow

Hello PPC-World!! ;)

Right then ... PPC skinning! OK, first up I'm totally new to this aswell, but I have managed to find out some stuff. There seems to be a great void in modaco in terms of PPC skins & having made a move recently to an M600 I think it's about time I kick started a modaco revolution for PPC skins! ;)

I thought I'd start this thread because there is some web info about skinning, but it's difficult to find so far. I thought we could all start sharing ideas, info, links, suggestions etc etc etc. So, I'll start ...

Rule 1 - SBSH is your friend! ;) Everybody knows their apps, & as far as I can tell so far they are the predominant apps for skinning - pocketbreeze, iLauncher & pocket weather. The next one is Wisbar Advance & also Wisbar Advance Desktop by Lakeridge software. WA is a startbar replacement & task manager app. It lets you skin the startbar and softkeys. Both these companies have web forums with tips & downloadable today themes so go there.

Creating an overall look for your PPC (in the same way as your smartphone) involves a multitude of different application skins plus a today theme. The today theme is created using the MS theme generator (download free from MS). That gives you a background image & colour scheme. The application skins like pocketbreeze etc then sit on top of that. It's not like skinning a smartphone because all the skinnable plugins are more like full on applications for the today screen. The skinnable parts are really just the images, which are called onscreen by the app itself. The amount of user configurable components to each app means that things like placement of text onscreen is not possible, so all you are really doing is replacing the default images with your own. It's a bit hard to get used to after the total control that is xml - but in combination with a background image you can create great themes - just look at anything by Juni! :(