new to pocket pc. Any one have newbie guide?

Guest mickthetree

Guest mickthetree

Hi there - first post.

I'm wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of a good newbies guide to Pocket PCs and what all the annograms mean, 3G, 3.5G, HSCDS, EDGE etc or if you could explain a few things here. (maybe a sticky??)

Requirements

I'm a web developer and want to be able to do my emails out on the road. I have built content managment systems that I need to be able to edit via a browser out of the office. I have been to an O2 shop and a Tmobile shop, but no one in either knew anything about any of the devices and they didnt have any working ones for me to try.

I love the look of the new HTC tytn and it looks like it would do everything I need, but the larger screen might be necessary for the web side of things.

I have read a load of posts about different tarriffs etc, but with all these differrent methods of connecting, 3G, wifi etc would you set your device up to use all of them depending on where you are and what is available? Or do you choose one or two and set those up?

I currently use a w800i and pick up some pop email accounts on there, but it is really klunky. I'm with orange but I'm moving to a place soon where they dont have a signal. O2 and Tmobile do though.

I appreciate any help you maybe able to provide.

Guest Palindrome

Hi and welcome to the site.

There aren't any stickies containing the info you wanted (AFAIK) but a search through the forum should produce required answers. Failing that have a look at the links below.

EDGE

3G

3.5G

HSCSD

If you're interested in the Tytn (when it's releaseed) then T-Mobile would be a good choice especially with unlimited internet for a fixed fee. T-Mobiles' website will have more details about phones and plans.