Connected via WiFi, but 3G icon still present?

Guest Cummo

Need a bit of advice, just to make sure I don't receive a huge bill...

Got my M3100 from Orange, it's great. Connected to WiFi at home no problems...but when I'm on the net both WiFi icon and 3G icon are present. Will the phone be defaulting to Wifi? How do I check?

I am determined not to get stung for mega-bucks by O.

Are you using push mail or anything?

Push mail always goes via a mobile connection.

P

No, (don't think so anyway, how do I check).

I just want regular email retrieval, regular internet and maybe a bit of skype chat via WiFi.

PS: are there any essential/cool software downloads, game recommended etc.

Excuse my ignorance, I am new to pocket PC's but loving it.

Guest jimbouk

Before connecting to wifi, hold the end call button down for a few seconds. This will disconnect the current 3g data connection (and the small three above the signal bars will change back to the antenna symbol).

Then turn on wifi and open internet explorer. If the phone pops up a "connecting to Orange Internet 3g" message then your wifi is not connected properly. If so, make sure you have a valid IP address from your wifi router (probably 192.168.x.x) in comm manager, menu, wlan settings.

Before connecting to wifi, hold the end call button down for a few seconds. This will disconnect the current 3g data connection (and the small three above the signal bars will change back to the antenna symbol).

Then turn on wifi and open internet explorer. If the phone pops up a "connecting to Orange Internet 3g" message then your wifi is not connected properly. If so, make sure you have a valid IP address from your wifi router (probably 192.168.x.x) in comm manager, menu, wlan settings.

Thanks for your advice, do you know if there is a 3G/GPRS data counter which separates WiFi?

Guest jimbouk
Thanks for your advice, do you know if there is a 3G/GPRS data counter which separates WiFi?