Question - moving from Orange to T-mobile for a Vario II

Guest bacus

I've just called Orange to request a PAC, waded through the menu's to the "Thinking of leaving" section only to be greeted by "Our offices are now closed. Please call back between 8:30am and 9:45pm... etc". I'm a bit annoyed as I wanted to get it sorted this evening.

Anyway, my question is - if I order my Vario II now without first getting my PAC, how long after it arrives and I start using it, can I get and then give them my PAC to transfer my number?

I presume there is a time limit, but since I've been with Orange since they began, I've never done the whole 'PAC' thing before, and so am after some advice.

Incidentally, the reason I'm leaving is because I'm a very 'light' contract phone user, hardly ever text, but do want to use loads of data. Orange, for some strange reason, seem to think that only people who use their phone a lot for voice and text, will want to use a lot of data. Strange logic !!! T-Mobiles Flext + Web'n'walk suits me much better.

Thanks in advance.

Lee

Anyway, my question is - if I order my Vario II now without first getting my PAC, how long after it arrives and I start using it, can I get and then give them my PAC to transfer my number?

I did exactly this with my two handsets a couple of months ago. You could buy the handset this morning and then phone Orange to get the PAC code. They take up to a week to send you the PAC through the post at which point you give this to TMob and it then takes up to another week to be transferred.

I did exactly this with my two handsets a couple of months ago. You could buy the handset this morning and then phone Orange to get the PAC code. They take up to a week to send you the PAC through the post at which point you give this to TMob and it then takes up to another week to be transferred.

Thanks. That's good to know. Now I can get on and do it.