Hi All

Guest Junglist_HTC

Guest Junglist_HTC

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Windows Mobile 5 and Smartphones and PDA's. I've just bought one and it's my first one.

I've just bought a HTC 3600 and have spent the last 3 days searching the internet for help on setting it up. But there seem to be allot of junk out there to wade through, an I've finally ended up here! :rolleyes:

I understand that it has GPS but only on a later version of the ROM (which I think is the windows version).

So, what I'm confused with is that I have checked and I have the latest ROM version that is available at the HTC website.

I'm having trouble setting up the GPS software that I downloaded.

I've downloaded this...

http://www.efficasoft.com/gpsutilities.html

In the set-up I'm unsure of what com port and baud rate to use for my phone, so the utilities dosen't work correctly, everything shows as 0, like letitude, altitude, speed etc, even the compass dosen't work.

Dose anyone know the settings for this?

And are there any other settings to change other than this?

Also, if anyone can suggest any nice applications and toys for this phone I would appreciate it.

Many thanks for your help.

Edited by Junglist_HTC

Guest Junglist_HTC

Thanks for the help, just restarted it and it's told me that I have used my 60 minute trial so I'm off to look for some other software now :rolleyes:

Anyone know of any basic free GPS software to try?

Thanks again, sorry for the silly questions.

Guest Junglist_HTC

Firstly, sorry for the double post.

Ok, so I downloaded richessegps (a program that uses GPS for geocaching).

http://www.freewarepocketpc.net/ppc-downlo...gps-v1-0-4.html

I've set the com port to com9 and baud to 57600.

I still don't seem to be having any luck though.

I'm on a Vodafone contract, and have the HTC p3600

I've tried to install the latest ROM,

but it seems the one I downloaded from HTC is the same as the one that came installed on the phone.

ROM Version: 1.23.405.2