What to do with my new Vario III?

Guest fraparty

Guest fraparty

Hi guys,

Newbie here, just got my brand new Vario III from T-mobile, so it is a blank canvas!

I've also brought an 8GB SDHC card for it as well.

Here are the details:

CE OS 5.2.1620 (Build 18125.0.4.2)

ROM Version: 1.56.110.4

ROM Date: 09/01/07

Radio Version: 1.27.12.32

Protocol Version: 22.45.88.07H

I've been reading the posts about 'cooked ROMS' and would love to get 6.1 on there asap (not knowing when T-mobile will release theirs)

The only problem i've got is i'm happy with the layout (T-mobile branded) of it as it is and if i add a cooked ROM will i lose that? What does the layout of the 'cooked Rom' (HTC branded) look like, are there screenshots around?

Also with TLR's latest ROM some people are finding it buggy so i would probably go for his previous one released in March.

What about getting the original T-mobile ROM back? I can't find any posts on how to do that, just in case i don't like the new ROM or i need to send the phone back to T-mobile.

Lastly, backing up and restoring. I lost all my SMS messages when i upgraded the ROM on my Vario I even though i used SPB Backup. The restore didn't work :D

What is the best program for backup and will it owrk with bakups between 6.0 and 6.1?

All help will be much appreciated!

Guest brandall

Dont know about the t-mobile layout, but there's so much you can tweak on the today screens and themes etc that I'm sure you'll end up finding a setup your prefer. Search a thread for 'post your today theme' or something similar and some are wicked.

To get you started is a list of Freeware I just listed in another post:

PocketCM (finger friendly contact application)

Ultimate Launch (endless trial but 'not registered' appears in the screen corners after a while)

S2U2 - (animated slide to unlock with many added features)

Thumbcal (finger friendly calendar application)

Batti 2.2 (battery status plugin)