Push email and remote sync?

Guest deejayry

Guest deejayry

I'd like to be able to perform remote sync and enable push email for my pocket pc. I understand that i will need to have a pc running a windows server platform, but am unsure which version of windows server i will need.

I have an old PC which i have been using as a media server for the last few months at the moment it is running XP home but i would like to install a propper server platform instead. I'm a complete newbie as far as server specific platforms are concerned so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

allthough the computer will primarily be used as a server i will also need to be able to use it for internet, playing music and video, audio CD ripping and possibly the odd use of word or excel.

can someone suggest the best suited platform for me?

Guest Bill Fisher
I'd like to be able to perform remote sync and enable push email for my pocket pc. I understand that i will need to have a pc running a windows server platform, but am unsure which version of windows server i will need.

Wow, are you actually considering running a mail server at your home in order to remotely sync and receive push email? In my experience, that's normally an enterprise-only option, because with Windows Mobile, you'd need Exchange Server 2003 SP2 or Exchange Server 2007. There are hosted Exchange options available from ISPs and other service providers, and MS itself is starting to offer hosted services, too.

However, why not just use Windows Live Hotmail? You can sync mail and contacts to Outlook Mobile on your device, and to your desktop PC. And it's free.

Good luck!

Guest deejayry