Im getting this soon... but..

Guest jimbles90

Guest jimbles90

how do i turn of data mode like GPRS and HSDA or whatever?

I only want wi-fi on as i am a college student, so at college im surrounded by wi-fi, at home im surround by wi-fi and at other places im surouned by wi-fi, so ill be doing my updates and stuff through that, keeping the phone awake whilst doing so!

Also because i can't afford a contract with data allowances.

So help me asap? I want to change it to Wi-Fi only straight away as soon as i turn it on!

thanks1

how do i turn of data mode like GPRS and HSDA or whatever?

I only want wi-fi on as i am a college student, so at college im surrounded by wi-fi, at home im surround by wi-fi and at other places im surouned by wi-fi, so ill be doing my updates and stuff through that, keeping the phone awake whilst doing so!

Also because i can't afford a contract with data allowances.

So help me asap? I want to change it to Wi-Fi only straight away as soon as i turn it on!

thanks1

There's a programme on xda developers called nodata that turns off your mobile internet. you can still allow wifi tho

Guest LessThanSte

More or less the same story with me. Theres a Data Connection off or on option in the Comms Manager (which is a nice feature, btw!) that allows you to turn the data connection off and just use wifi.

However i think if you try to connect to the net or whatever when you dont have a wifi connection it will try and connect by 3G or whatever!

BTW, my contract is through orange and, alledgedly, the package i got (dolphin 35) had 2 months of free data up to 250MB. Im not so sure if this actually happened as it appears to have charged me 10p so far according to my orange account thingy, but thats something to keep an eye on and you can maybe see just how much, in real terms, you would actually use.