Programming WinMo - which language to begin with?

Guest Cretster

Guest Cretster

Hi guys

I'd like to be able to start tinkering with writing small apps for Windows Mobile as I'm enjoying the omnia so much and generally buy winmo phones anyway.

I am already a programmer by trade although currently only have a few years experience in one object orientated language called Graphtalk.

From you folks that are already doing this stuff, I'd be interested to hear what the favoured languages would be for writing winmo apps, and any particularly good resources you've found, in particular if you have only recently started or are self learned etc.

I'm guessing the favoured ones will be Java or C# and I have no experience of these at present but would quite like to start dabbling.

All sensible suggestions gratefully received, cheers :rolleyes:

Jim

Guest Neobaumuth
Hi guys

I'd like to be able to start tinkering with writing small apps for Windows Mobile as I'm enjoying the omnia so much and generally buy winmo phones anyway.

I am already a programmer by trade although currently only have a few years experience in one object orientated language called Graphtalk.

From you folks that are already doing this stuff, I'd be interested to hear what the favoured languages would be for writing winmo apps, and any particularly good resources you've found, in particular if you have only recently started or are self learned etc.

I'm guessing the favoured ones will be Java or C# and I have no experience of these at present but would quite like to start dabbling.

All sensible suggestions gratefully received, cheers :rolleyes:

Jim

I think the best way is using C++ with Visual C++ from Microsoft. It allows you to save thousand lines of code with MFC programming and the API.

Guest Cretster

Really? C++ is another one I do not know but I'd read it's not an ideal point for starting off and that it's more complex to learn than others I'd mentioned.