Why Root My HTC Hero

Guest chadt

Hello, I am new to all of this and would like some help.

Can someone please let me know why I should root my HTC Hero?

Is it possible to gain access to more aps that are offered via Android?

All of my friends have I-Phones and I want to see if this Hero can really rival it.

Thank you in advance.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest sinnadyr

Oh lord, yes!

Hope you have googled it, and if you want to fiddle around with your phone, gain FULL control, be able to install applications that need root access (i.e apps that's not officially supported by HTC and Google), then please, root it.

If you "just" want a phone, please by the iPhone. With android the possibillities are infinite, so if you dont wanna explore at all and see all the advantages with a little work you can do with an Android based phone, go to Apple.

And did I mention you always get the newest firmware and ROM updates, already rooted from MoDaCo before it's even officially out? And the thing is, it's just as simple as upgrading to official HTC-ROMs

Guest TheCodeMonk
Hello, I am new to all of this and would like some help.

Can someone please let me know why I should root my HTC Hero?

Is it possible to gain access to more aps that are offered via Android?

All of my friends have I-Phones and I want to see if this Hero can really rival it.

Thank you in advance.

What root gives you access to is

- uninstall some of the apps that the carrier pushes on you (like Sprint NFL and NASCAR)

- install custom ROM's (Like MoDaCo's ROM) that have updated software, different functionality, etc.

- Be able to tether your phone (so your computer can hook up to it wirelessly and use it's internet connection, effectively acting as a cell modem) (This can be done on iPhones but it takes rooting also and Apple is fairly active in trying to break your root access)

There's more info here on "Why Root?": http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=543940