Removing stuff (e.g. Acer Registration)

Guest PaulOBrien

If you've rooted and you've got ADB running, you can remove apps you don't want (i've removed Acer Sync, Acer Registration) by deleting their APKs from /system/app.

E.g., to remove Acer Registration, I did:

- adb remount

- adb rm /system/app/AcerAbout.apk

Easy! ;)

P

sorry I am still a newbie with rooted android etc.

How do you adb?? from command prompt and you need to have android sdk installed??

I think I have rooted my device but i´m not sure just did superboot then installed the latest official rom. 

Guest snoopy33

Hi,

Because I used Handset for sms, and because the original sms application stay open in background, i uninstall it by removing Mms.apk.

I removed also talk service and google talk because i don t use it, but by doing that i was unable to make the market working correctly so I reinstall it in the system folder, and now, all is Ok.

++

Guest jimshui
If you've rooted and you've got ADB running, you can remove apps you don't want (i've removed Acer Sync, Acer Registration) by deleting their APKs from /system/app.

E.g., to remove Acer Registration, I did:

- adb remount

- adb rm /system/app/AcerAbout.apk

Easy! ;)

P

I am using 1.001.05-AAP-CSL rom and have used alternate superboot to root my Liquid. Tried to adb remount via macbook which was ok. However, I could not remove the apps from my Liquid. Error message "failure" was shown on terminal.

Kindly assist.

Guest tomdotcom

NEWBIE Instructions

To use ADB on a Superbooted ROM

1. Install AndroidSDK

2. Enable USB Debugging mode

3. Plug Liquid via USB cable

4. adb remount

5. adb shell

6. cd /system/app

7. rm XXXXX.apk

8. adb shell reboot

Edited by tomdotcom

Guest chingy1788

i want to move these apps incase i want them back for what ever purpose...

mv doesnt seem to work - failure on '*app directory*' - Cross-device linked

and theres no sudo...

Guest petrosy