HELP A NOOBIE:d

Guest h3dshot

Guest h3dshot

well basically im new to this whole thing, just got my pulse today and im loving it!

was wonderin if any of u experienced people would explain some key terms to me lol

i hope to be quite active on these forums and so obv need to know wtf u guys are talking about lol

what is a custom rom and why wud i need it?

thanks

DONT FORGET YOU WERE A NOOB AT ONE POINT TOO:)

Guest h3dshot

oh yes, almost forgot. i was customizing my phone as you do lol and noticed theres an option to disable "data service" i was told that this basically means u wont connect to the internet

is that true cos i want to use my wifi in my house but dont wanna get ass raped by t-mobile's charges, so if i leave this on will they still charge me for using my wifi. and also is it classed as im using their service if i just open the browser even if im connected to my wifi... if that last bit seemed a bit confusing basically in which order does it connect? to your wifi first so its free, or to t-mobiles own so they have your pants down with fees?

Just got mine yesterday so still experimenting with just about everything but I currently have Wifi on but data services off (need to conserve credit until the free internet kicks in next month!). Whilst at home everything is connected so I can access the net, twidroid & facebook are getting updates etc but it's all coming through my home wifi so no mobile charges.

On the top status bar I have a data service disabled symbol at the left (And a notification in the drag down) and a Wifi connection symbol on the right beside the network signal symbol. If I turn on data services and turn the wifi off then I get a 3G symbol by the network signal which turns white with arrows if it's downloading data and therefore charging me.

Guest h3dshot