Must have apps...

Guest ptruman

Guest ptruman

So I've been playing with this Hero for about two months now, and have mostly stopped fiddling with testing apps/games, and got a set few, which have made life considerably easier and/or more fun....and that I'd recommend ;)

This will get periodically updated as I find new things, or better replacements.

Updated : 08/01/10 (AndroZip File Manager)

Updated : 30/12/09 (EStrongs File Explorer)

Google Search By Voice (free, if not already included in your ROM)

- Does what it says on the tin, at least as long as it's quiet around you when you're talking. Saves typing on fiddly keys!

TopVoiceControl (free)

- Gets voice dialling back on the EU Hero - although you should disable everything OTHER than contacts, else it's performance is patchy - and it doesn't support voice dialling over BlueTooth

ConnectBot (free)

- SSH program for when you're on the move. Lets me access my routers & phone itself.

SilentMode OnOff (free)

- A nice widget for the home screen, just to shut the phone up

HulloMail Visual Voicemail (free - currently)

- Free, visual voicemail. I'm currently reporting some issues to them to hopefully help resolve a couple of minor problems. You pretty much need to be on a contract though - PAYG users generally can't setup the necessary diverts.

Barcode Scanner (free)

- Needed for 3D barcode shortcuts

FTPServer (free)

- A bit of a pain to setup initially, and (badly) displays passwords in the log when connections come in, but it allows you to get stuff on/off the Hero without USB

Places Directory (free)

- Very handy Google App to find out what's around you

OpenTable (free)

- Not yet used "properly", but might come in handy for booking a table if I'm out and about ;)

ElJay (free)

- Very handy LiveJournal updating client - saves using the browser

Carrr Matey (free)