How ROMs are put together

Guest franciswills

Guest franciswills

Firstly, I'm a linux sysadmin, so I'm fine with kernels, modules, filesystems, blah blah. I haven't spend a great deal of time googling around this so if I've missed an obvious topic, please point me to it. Also, before I get flamed, I'm not saying anyone's being useless or lax, and I'm more than happy to say I probably couldn't do it myself.

Initially I was interested in what might be holding up the creation of a 2.1 ROM since the N1 ROM is now out.

Please correct me on what I've written below, I'm just looking at it from a sysadmin's point of view:

A ROM is simply a linux filesystem including a kernel (which has the device drivers in it or maybe compiled as modules) plus a bootloader right?

In that case, since the 2.1 filesystem is available in the form of the N1 ROM, and the Hero specific device drivers are available in the 2.6.27 kernel HTC distributes, could a Hero ROM not be built by:

1) Taking the 2.6.29 kernel sources (which I assume, possibly incorrectly, are available for the N1) and,

2) patching it with the Hero device drivers (obviously some munging, minor or major, of patches might be necessary here) and then

3) adding that kernel to the 2.1 filesystem from the N1?

I'm sure it's more complex than this, or the device drivers will simply not patch into 2.6.29, or there'd be loads of ROMs floating around already.

Again - please don't think I'm saying I could do it any better, I'm just trying to understand.

Edited by franciswills

Firstly, I'm a linux sysadmin, so I'm fine with kernels, modules, filesystems, blah blah. I haven't spend a great deal of time googling around this so if I've missed an obvious topic, please point me to it. Also, before I get flamed, I'm not saying anyone's being useless or lax, and I'm more than happy to say I probably couldn't do it myself.

Initially I was interested in what might be holding up the creation of a 2.1 ROM since the N1 ROM is now out.