Help Understanding Nexus One OS Structure / Bootstrapping?

Guest Michael Spencer Jr.

This is my first post and I hope this isn't in the wrong place. (Then again I just donated 10 GBP to get access to the rom kitchen, so maybe I'm allowed one embarrassing newbie mistake. Just one.) I'm a Computer Science grad student, and I'm frustrated that I don't yet feel like a master of this device. I'd like to know what makes it tick, what failure recovery behaviors I can count on if I mess up, etc.

How is the device structured, and what parts do what when the phone boots?

I know my understanding is flawed but this is what I currently believe to be true. I invite corrections -- or even a link and a firm but polite "RTFM."

Flawed wild guess follows:

Memory areas are: read-only "boot" firmware and protected storage for the firmware; partitioned and variously-protected NAND flash; protected radio-controller flash; and unprotected microSD storage.

The phone's 1 GB of NAND flash is itself partitioned into memory areas for a recovery partition, a recovery kernel, a kernel for normal use, a normally-read-only system partition for core system services, and a read-write user data area.

If I was a complete moron, or I was as deliberately destructive as I could possibly be, then no matter what insanity I tried to write to NAND flash I can always connect a USB cable, hold the trackball and boot into fastboot, and reflash with fastboot. Right?

Or maybe: no matter what I do, as long as I don't corrupt the recovery partition, recovery kernel, and radio-controller flash I can always reflash with fastboot.

Or something else is true and I completely misunderstand.

In a normal factory-new configuration, the read-only firmware that manages "fastboot" will only write memory images containing a valid Google signature. After 'fastboot oem unlock' the firmware is willing to flash any memory image, corrupt or otherwise, regardless of signature.