HOW TO INSTALL ECLAIR 2.1 COMMUNITY ROM FOR COMPLETE NOOBS!

Guest Running_Roti

Guest Running_Roti

hey everyone

im fairly new here and i love these forums and the devs and people in it :-)

i bought my acer liquid a few weeks ago with the potential i saw in the phone's hardware, and now theres software to start taking full advantage of the phone (android 2.1 leak :-D)

im coming from the htc touch HD/htc touch pro 2. i hate windows mobile but i was very used to flashing roms on those devices, however it wasnt nearly as complex as android with going into command line interfaces and stuff.

im very interested in flashing roms and rooting and all that good stuff however:

the problem is iiii dont have a clue as to how to flash a rom in the slightest. i know most of u on these forums are android masters and therefore ur instructions are semi vague (or maybe i just dont understand them) however if someone could give me step by step instructions on how to flash a rom *edit someone did and i've used it to make this guide :-)

what i started off with:

pulled my phone out of the box.

i am using firmware 1.6

kernel 2.6.29

build number acer_liquid_1.001.05_AAP_CSL

then i went to that tutorial wiki page: step by step guide to doing stuff on the acer liquid

and i beleive i successfully rooted the phone. i was able to get into the bootloader and i used ALTERNATE superboot because i was using AAP_CSL as it said. in hte instructions.

from there i've tried to apply a custom recovery image, however i cannot enter the recovery mode for some reason. ive used all key combos, and ive tried to use a program called quick boot as well however it just cycles through the startup showing acer, android, and then homescreen as normal. becuase of this i cant make a recovery image. so im a bit confused on that part.

beyond that ive downloaded acer tools and completed all the updates on that, and ive also downloaded ANDROID SDK which has adb in it.