For a complete noob, creating a ROM

Guest izmar

Guest izmar

Hello Modaco forums!

I have a question. Can anyone point me in the direction of a guide on how to create a custom ROM for a complete noob?

Is this even possible? Would I need a large knowledge of programing and other things?

Possible to teach myself?

Thank you :(

Guest stevenz

If you have to ask rather than doing the research & experimentation, then it might pay to stick to using existing ROMs - there's probably not a lot of benefit when you've already got the people with the skill of Cyanogen, Lox, Paul, Teknologist etc. already looking after things.

Otherwise, start with an Ubuntu installation on a PC or in a VM and work from there so you get a grasp how a *nix kernel works, then take apart existing ROMs and see how they work and Google anything that doesn't make sense. That'll get you half-way, perseverance will do the rest, but I'd just use MCR or wait for a proper 2.1, because no matter how good you are, there's still bits missing from what we have available for a fully operational 2.1 that functions perfectly - only HTC can do realistically.

Guest izmar
If you have to ask rather than doing the research & experimentation, then it might pay to stick to using existing ROMs - there's probably not a lot of benefit when you've already got the people with the skill of Cyanogen, Lox, Paul, Teknologist etc. already looking after things.

Otherwise, start with an Ubuntu installation on a PC or in a VM and work from there so you get a grasp how a *nix kernel works, then take apart existing ROMs and see how they work and Google anything that doesn't make sense. That'll get you half-way, perseverance will do the rest, but I'd just use MCR or wait for a proper 2.1, because no matter how good you are, there's still bits missing from what we have available for a fully operational 2.1 that functions perfectly - only HTC can do realistically.