beginner needs some advice :)

Guest attilax2000

Guest attilax2000

Just bought a second hand acer liquid ! I am very happy with It ! This is my first android phone and I am completely new to flashing rom's etc... After searching true the forums and reading a lot I am still a little bit lost.

Some things I think I understand:

If I understand correctly by flashing a Recovery image, you get some customized recovery console if you start the phone in recovery mode ?

With flashing a Rom you can change the OS of the phone, either by using an official or customized rom ? .bin files are the roms ?

Rooting gives you access to the whole system, necessary for some apps?

With Nandroid you can make a full backup (contacts etc …) of the system ?

Have no idea  :

What’s the purpose of the boot images ?

What’s adb ? What’s a stock kernel or a custom one?

I see all kinds of commands to put in some console ? wich console ?

Ok that’s where I am at the moment  So I found out that the previous owner did some “stuff” with the phone. It has been rooted I see a Superuser Permission app, and if I look at the about I get : Firmware 1.6, Kernel-versie 2.6.29-disco-b01, build-number acer_liquid_2.000.16_EMEA_GEN1. I also once got in a lickon recovery mode.

So for starters I would like a “Belgian keybord” (azerty ) I found that there is an official file from acer especially for Belgium (OS_ACER_2.000.16.EMEA.CUS2_A16D_Liquid) I suppose this is completely localized.This is an official rom?

But I am also reading a lot about an rom based on an official 2.1 android release.(angio) Will this also be available in dutch etc … What to you guys think I should do. Install the cus2 rom or wait a little and try the angio rom ? Ok a lot of rambling <_<

Edited by attilax2000

Guest Borkata

You have many questions, but I will try to answer them one by one <_<