Newb Needs help updating from 2.3 to 3.3

Guest crusader007

Guest crusader007

Hi all im quite new to all this flashing / updating roms etc..

i have just brought a G2 hero from ebay and it should be with me by wedneday, however it has already been rooted and is is flashed with madaco 2.3,

first of all is it worth updating to 3.3 ? if so could someone tell me step by step instructions in plain english on how to update to 3.3,

also is it easy to swap back to the officail software / firmware as i have heard that google are releasing an official app2sd on there next software update, and that is the main reason i wanted a custom rom phone.

please help

Crusader007

Guest Wilkcos

Yes it is worth going to Modaco 3.2, it's the best 1.5 rom IMO, and the kitchen facility is just great.

- Flashing is generally straight forward, it involves:

- Downloading your new rom and put the zip onto your sdcard.

- Load into recovery image from power off (Home and power key if your unaware).*

- Do a nandroid backup (If the flash goes wrong, you have a known working rom to fall back on).

- As it has 2.2 there is no need to wipe, but as the phone is new you may want to do this anyway.

- Finally flash the zip file you put on your sdcard.

- Reboot phone and Wait, and I say wait cos it can take its time on the first boot after flashing.

I wouldn't worry about going back to stock, any official updates to the hero will be implemented into mocado 4.

3.2 has apps2sd support anyway, just involves partitioning your sdcard, pretty straight forward with the latest recovery image below.

* Not sure what version of the recovery image the phone will have, the latest version can be found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=561124

Finally there is loads of info out there on anything android just involves having a good look around, but I do know how daunting it can be at the start.

Guest crusader007