Debranding Telstra Desire A8183

Guest AlkaiserNova

Guest AlkaiserNova

Hey guys,

I have just bought my first Android phone the Telstra HTC Desire A8183, but i cant stand all the Telstra bloatware on the as i am using a Virgin Mobile sim all of it is rather useless to me.

Now i have read plenty of topics here on what and how to debrand the phone but as this is my first time doing it i would like to ask some questions to gain some clarity since i think i may have confused myself by reading so many different ways to do it.

Ok so from what i have gathered i have to do this: -

- Install ADB on my computer

- Ensure USB debugging is enabled on my phone

- Create a gold card using this guide:- http://android.modaco.com/content/general-...ing-a-goldcard/

- Use this guide to root the Desire: - http://android.modaco.com/content/htc-desi...o-1-21-support/

After i have rooted it what are my options with flashing another ROM on it? I would like to just have a Generic HTC Desire Rom on there without all the Telstra stuff, but i am worried that i may choose the wrong one for my phone and brick it! So if anyone could set me up with a direct link for what i need that would be great. Maybe also a guide on how to flash it too?

Also how do i check my hboot version?

Hopefully i will be able to do this tonight!

Just incase here is all my current Software info

- Firmware Version

2.1-update1

- Baseband Version

32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11

- Kernel Version

2.6.29-3cb3dfbf

htc-kernel@and18-2 #1

- Build Number

1.16.841.1 CL171554 release-keys

- Software Number

- Browser Version

WebKit 3.1

Thank you!

Guest Jamien

No need for that.

Follow this guide: http://myhtcdesire.com/modding/how-to-root...easily-method-2 and you're done!

No need for gold cards :(