desire flashed to froyo....now i dont have 3g??

Guest gaziz45

Guest gaziz45

hi guys, complete noob to rooting and android.....yes i know i should have never bothered....lol but i love a challenge..

heres my problem. using a mix of the advice and files available on modaco and on rootmydroid.co.uk i have managed to turn my desire from a vodafone "branded" (yes i did have the ugly update...thought it was froyo like the rest of vodas customers) into a rooted and then 2.2 version and it still works!! (many many thanx to all who have taken the time to write it all down in a format that even i can understand)

my phone works....all my apps stayed there (except of course the vodafone cr*p) it was marvellous, except for one tiny thing....mnow it wont connect to vodafone 3g network. that is i have no data link from my phone. if i use the wi-fi then its fine and i can connect to my home network and its peachy. if i use my mobile as standalone i get no data transfer. any ideas?

here is some info from my phone.

android 2.2

baseband version

32.43.00.32u_5.09.00.20

kernel

2.6.32.15-gf9c0527

htc-kernel@and18-2#1

bulid number

2.09.405.8 CL218634 release-keys

software number

the only other thing i guess you need to know is that im at hboot 80.

any help would be most humbly accepted.

again thanx for all you done up to now...

gary

Guest mcwarrior

i would think you would need to add the internet settings in the the APN, for the vodafone network.

to find thses press menu, settings, wireless & networks, Mobile Networks, and Access point Names, and enter the inforemation from the voda web site.

Guest ceedee

After a manual upgrade to HTC's 2.2 on my unlocked and unbranded Desire (to exactly the same version as the OP) and re-inputting the APN info for the 02-based VMNO, giffgaff, the phone similarly couldn't make a 3G data connection.

Exactly the same APN parameters had worked flawlessly on the Desire at 2.1 and in another phone both at 1.5 and when uprated to 2.1.