Thinking about a smartphone-San Francisco??

Guest paulr1949

Guest paulr1949

Hello

The title and description say most of it - I am completely new to smartphones so this seemed the best place to start. I would like to get one with wifi, I know very little about 3G, and my satnav has recently expired, so that is of interest to me too.

I am on Orange - a very long-term "EQ Virgin" contract, where I have no line rental and just pay call/text charges. I would prefer to stay on this if I can, but wonder if my sim will work in a smartphone, and what I would have to pay for 3G data. If I can't use the sim, I will probably try and get a giff-gaff sim and get the phone unlocked.

I have looked at the review/demo of the Orange San Francisco, and it sounds a pretty good buy to me. On the Orange website it lists "Satnav" as a feature: is this satnav with instructions or showing you the way on a map, and is it with google maps or orange maps? Does anyone know if you can get an app for satnav with directions if the built-in one doesn't have them?

Sorry there are so many questions! Thanks in advance for any help

Paul

Guest tanivula
Hello

The title and description say most of it - I am completely new to smartphones so this seemed the best place to start. I would like to get one with wifi, I know very little about 3G, and my satnav has recently expired, so that is of interest to me too.

I am on Orange - a very long-term "EQ Virgin" contract, where I have no line rental and just pay call/text charges. I would prefer to stay on this if I can, but wonder if my sim will work in a smartphone, and what I would have to pay for 3G data. If I can't use the sim, I will probably try and get a giff-gaff sim and get the phone unlocked.