Hi, Android N00B seeking guidance!

Guest Dave-M

Hi,

I'm new to the whole Android thing and have just bought the Orange San Francisco and so far it seems pretty good, but there are a few things I'd like to do, so I would appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction, I have searched for these things, and I have found the answers to many things already, but the sheer volume of posts and information on here is a little overwhelming.

First of all, I'm using the stock Orange ROM, the phone is unlocked and working great with a T-Mobile £10 SIM contract (3GB data).

First issue I'm having is that when buying paid apps from the market, the downloads screen just shows the app as "authorising...." and "starting download" and that's where is stays. I was searching for this a lot last night, and there are several threads on Google forums going back over a year with no 100% fix. Initially, the same thing was happening with free apps too, it just said "downloading", so I did a hard reset and changed the log in email for the market to gmail.com from googlemail.com and that fixed the free apps thing, but the paid for apps thing is now broke.

I've tried connecting via wifi and 3G, also removing the SD card, using the original Orange SIM, remiving the googletalk app at star tup, powering off and on the handset. Pretty much everything I've found, I've tried and failed!

There's thousands of apps out there, and I'm guessing that not everyone has these issues? So what's different on my set up and the other people's set ups that also have the same problems?

Next, is there a way to save all your settings so that when you do a factory reset, you can load the settings of your choice back up instead of entering everything manually?

Finally, is there a guide on how to root and then flash to your custom roms from Win 7 x64 please? I have to say that Linux scares me :)

Thanks for reading my long post, and thanks for this great resource :)

Dave.