Use "OEM" ROM to restore phone to vanilla ?

Guest TLCook

Hi all, I recently received a HTC Desire HD on upgrade from Vodafone. The phone is great but has its limitations - only selectable carrier is Vodafone UK (contract or payg) and apps that could not be removed as normal user. Also, the boot screen has the vodafone logo on it instead of HTC.

I know this is not major, as the phone itself operates as any other but I'm slightly miffed as my mate has the same phone but it is "vanilla" - that is, unbranded.

I have read up on "rooting" my device and followed the instructions. I used Visionary+ and it worked. Using Titanium Backup+ I was able to "freeze" the apps that I cannot remove. I did try removing them as root and after a reboot they come back again.

I want to know if it is possible to install the OEM android ROM that would be on the "vanilla" DHD to allow use of any carrier and no apps I can't remove?

I'm totally new to HTC and Android so this is a steep learning curve for me, any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Tom

You can debrand your DHD but there will always be apps you can't remove as even the stock DHD comes with crapware. Only by rooting can you remove apps you don't want

Guest El Nino9
Hi all, I recently received a HTC Desire HD on upgrade from Vodafone. The phone is great but has its limitations - only selectable carrier is Vodafone UK (contract or payg) and apps that could not be removed as normal user. Also, the boot screen has the vodafone logo on it instead of HTC. ............

hello tom.

i will try explain first.

vanilla is used in android when the build is from google source or cyanogen's source, this is known as an AOSP build.

from what i have read you want to debrand, not get rid of sense ui.

if you want more explanation on the above feel free to ask.

so the solution to you're request.

you will need to root, run g_free 0.2 and an WWE RUU.

1) you have visionary already and are temp rooted i take it?